I can hardly believe my eyes

Well now, what’s this?  I woke up a few moments ago (at noon) as my sweet boy crept into my bedroom to silently steal my iPad (he’s been up for an hour or two, happily enjoying his time alone in the house by simultaneously playing all the electronic things at once.  He has his phone (not really a phone – it has no sim card and works only on WiFi for games and such), his dad’s iPad, the Wii game system, and his school iPad (unlocked for the summer, of course) all at the same time.  He LOVES doing this and will  hoard all the ‘screens’ he can when we aren’t looking, will take them to his room and, after putting on a movie he likes in his little TV/DVD player, will proceed to obliterate every outside noise (and even the ones in his head, I suspect) with an abundance of sound, lights, images and fast paced reaction required games.  Right now I can  hear his Shopkins game, Talking Tom, a movie I almost know by heart but can’t quite identify, Super Mario, and a YouTube video from one of those gaming channels I hate him watching.  They aren’t bad in content but they tend to holler F-bombs loudly at unexpected moments….there’s also a lot of screeching and screaming that tends to wear on the nerves when you have to listen to it for hours on end from the other room.  The swearing deal is now totally under control and Colt has the appropriate look of horror cross his face when he lets one slip in our company, plus we only had a single incident this entire summer at the babysitters so….all good on that front.  Because he’s wised up to the rules, I don’t keep him away from things on YouTube that are age appropriate containing foul language like I used to.  He is 12 after all and no longer a little one who seemed determined to corrupt his peers through his bad habits with language.  lol….poor kid.  He’s always been such a good boy but because he lacked the filters and instinct not to get into trouble he was monitored by everyone in his life everywhere he went.  There is still a woman who comes to school every day to make him eat his lunch for heaven’s sake.  This woman’s only job is to sit there and cajole the boy into eating his lunch, which is so lovingly packed by Dayne each and every morning.  He’s careful not to put anything in there that would turn Colt away from the entire thing, like the slightest suggestion of nuts, seeds or cereal ANYWHERE involved.  Even if something has a picture of a nut or seed on it he’s done.  Nope.  No thank you.  Done.  Once,  Dayne thought it would be okay to put in a yogurt that had a muesli packet on the side (removed, of course) but the container mentioned the grains (didn’t even show them, it was just in the description) and Colt didn’t even want to touch his lunch bag for weeks afterwards.  The lunch lady, a lovely woman who quite obviously adores our son, wrote a very terse note home scolding us for the error.

“You know, I had managed to get him eating almost half his lunch without complaint until the ‘muesli incident’.”  

lol…I love that woman.  She happens to live right across the road from the family who watches Colt for us (and has since he started school) and we’ve been chatting a bit this summer.  Might actually have her watch him in the mornings next school year and then let the kids take him in the afternoons.  If nothing else she’s a great back up.

See how he brings the best people into our world?   It’s Colt’s warm heart and beautiful soul that attracts them and makes them fall in love.  I’ve never known a heart so warm.  Here’s a lovely example from just a few days ago.

I worked late every night last week because I’m on VACATION FROM WORK FOR TWO WEEKS!!!!!!!! (first time ever taking two weeks in a row and first time I’m away from my current job while the rest of them are still there – which will be a living nightmare when I return but for now I couldn’t care less!)  I was exhausted by Friday and almost in tears when I asked for, and was denied, a flex day so I could be paid to come in on the weekend to get everything set to go for my two weeks off.  I worked for free for a few hours and then, bleary eyed and just absolutely out of energy, I wearily made my way to my car, climbing the stairs to the main floor of the hospital.  Because of the nerve issues with my spine, I tend to develop a slight foot-drop when I’m very tired and, thanks to that and my ridiculously dangerous 5 inch wedges (that I am love with and will never stop wearing – well, until I break my neck I suppose) I managed to hook the top step with my stupid floppy foot that came out of nowhere and tumbled, ass over tea kettle, backwards down the stairs.   Firstly, with my neck and spine, it’s a bad idea to fall down stairs.  Second, and much more distressing to me, I had my phone out so I could tell Dayne  I was on my way home.  My phone….never mind my body….went flying out of my hand and I heard the most sickening crack as it landed.  Not even bothering to see if I was damaged myself, I slid across the floor on my arse to check on my precious phone.

$800 of shattered glass met my devastated eyes.

Eight.  Hundred.  Dollars.

I am pretty frugal by nature and detest spending that amount of money on anything, ever, however, this phone is a computer to me.  It is a music library with thousands of songs I love; a photo album with over 5000 of my cherished photos; is a photo editor that I use on all my photos, camera produced, digital and otherwise.  It is my connection to my friends and work colleagues; my access to my blog and my world here; my FaceBook and Instagram and every silly game I play that wastes the hours of my weekends.  It is my  YouTube that I watch every single night and never turn the tv on.  It’s all the things I love to do and entertain myself with…..I even sleep with it under my pillow so it can wake me in the morning with a gentle wake alarm that gets me up in between dream cycles.  In short, the only thing I love more than that stupid phone is my family.

I made it to my car before bursting into tears but then sat sobbing like a little girl who just lost her most cherished teddy-bear.  I called Dayne and, true to form, he first asked if I was okay and then expressed his frustration at the loss of eight hundred dollars worth of electronics.

“Why was it in your hand on the stairs?” He asked in not-so-gentle tones.

“I was trying, sob, to, sob, tell you I was on my way, sob-sniff-sniff-gulp, and I fell down the staaaaaaaaaaiiiiirs…” I wailed.

“Well.  You’re going to have to make do with your iPad until next year when we can upgrade your old phone.”  he said.

This made me cry even harder.  I started to rationalize the situation and began coming up with ways to patch it together until next year.  I mean, it worked fine….it was just a shattered glass screen (why the fuck do they make them out of glass anyway!!!???) and by the time I got home, I had a plan.  I was going to buy a screen protector and use it to told the broken glass together and…well….see if it worked.

As I walked into the house, still shaken and puffy eyed, Colt met me at the door.  He slipped outside onto the front steps before I got there.

“Look mom.  Dad is pretty mad about your phone.  He said that we have to get the car in for new brakes this week and we don’t have the money to buy you another damn phone.”  Here he eyed me to see if I was going to scold him for the curse.  I didn’t so he continued. “He told me that he is saving money to get you a really special present this year for your anniversary and he didn’t want to use that money on a phone (oh really now?!) so, because I don’t want you to be sad, I’ve decided you can have mine until yours is fixed.”

……..He decided I could what?  

I totally forgot about the present curiosity.  Dayne isn’t a big gift kind of guy….but that totally didn’t matter in that moment.

“Oh honey…” I started but a flood of tears stopped me.

Colt LOVES his phone as much as I love mine.  He got my old phone when I upgraded through my  plan a couple of years back and he has cherished every moment of it.  He doesn’t even take care of his own teeth as well as he cares for that phone.  When the WiFi goes down, he is devastated beyond consolation.

“Sweetheart,” I began, carefully choosing words so he would know what a lovely thing he had offered, “You are the most wonderful boy in the world and I appreciate your selfless offer.  Thank you for loving me so much you would give up your phone, even for a day, but I wouldn’t take it from you even if I never had another phone again.”

The relief on his face was obvious as he threw his arms around me.

“I’m so sad for you about your phone mom!” he cried into my shoulder, tears of empathy soaking into my shirt.

Perspective huh?  He hugged me so hard I struggled to breathe as I explained it was just a phone and that I was perfectly fine without one.  I told him it was my own fault for not being careful (had to take the change to throw a lesson in there) and I told him that I was really sad but that he had healed my heart with his love, hugs and generous offer to share his phone with me.

“Mom.  I know you would do anything for me and that you always love me, no matter what. (I tell him this all the time and it became a mantra when he was struggling in school, getting suspended every week and was drowning in guilt because he thought he was disappointing us).  I know that if I broke my phone, you would share yours with me, so I wanted to do the same for you.  I love you more than anything…..even more than my toys, my phone, my movies….even my most favourite ones.”

Seriously?  This kid…..I think all the badness I’ve known in life was my quota and his.  He doesn’t seem to have an ugly cell in his body.

“Now let’s go in and talk to Dad.” He said, tone turning all serious and mature. “I’ll make sure he isn’t mad okay?  If he gets mad, don’t cry or yell, just close your mouth and let me do the talking.  Okay?”  I giggled and said okay, I’d let him take care of me.  (this is the reverse speech I give him when he’s in trouble and we go to tell his dad.  Colt is mortified when his dad is upset with him and Dayne feels so guilty it turns into a huge emotional swell that I usually manage to mitigate before it starts).

We bravely walked in, hand in hand, and found Dayne in the kitchen on the phone.  He held out his hand to me and when I went to him he wrapped me into his free arm, pulling me close and kissed the top of my head.

“Are you sure you’re okay?  Did you hurt your neck?”  He whispered while someone on the line talked in his ear.

I nodded against him and then Colt joined in the hug.

“Okay.  Yep.  Oh that’s great!”  Dayne was saying to the person on the phone.  “So when will it arrive?  Oh wow….okay.  Am I ever glad we kept this insurance on the account!  Oh yes, certainly…..add it to the new phone as well.  Thank you so much, you’ve been a great help!”

Wait what?  What insurance?  I could barely keep myself from bouncing up and down interrupting his call.  WHAT INSURANCE???  WHEN WILL WHAT ARRIVE??? OMGOMGOMG……did we have insurance?!

 

Amazingly, even though we had cancelled it years ago, we apparently had paid enough into a phone policy that we had one full replacement to claim.  They sent me a brand new phone straight from Apple that arrived yesterday.  I broke my phone at 630 Friday night and the phone arrived at my door by 10 am on Monday.  All I have to do is swap the SIM (done) back it up to iTunes, restore my back up to my new phone and ship the old one back in 15 days.  How unlike my life is that?

I sat in a daze for a few days….not really believing it.  I figured it would be a refurb or some kind of scam but nope – here I have it in my hands, an exact replica of my old, white, iPhone 6, with all my 5000 photos and thousands of songs.  It’s like it never happened.  You want to know the best part though?

“Hey mom!” Colt cried when I got home from work yesterday, hopping from one foot to the next at the front door.  “You’ll NEVER guess what I have for you!”

“Hmmmm…is it a welcome hug and a kiss from my favourite boy?” I guessed.

“NOPE!” he paused “Well, yes, but there’s something else too!”  He gave me a hug and a kiss and then rushed on with his surprise.

He took my hand and led me inside the house where he had carefully set up my new phone and had it all charged up and ready to be activated.

“TA-DAAAAAAAAA!!  Look mom!  It’s a BRAND NEW PHONE and it’s just for you!  Now you don’t have to be sad you broke your old one!”

Dayne came round the corner to say hello with a smile on his face.  “He wanted to bring it to you at work but I convinced him to wait so you could play with it right away.”

Even without the phone……I’ve gotta admit, I’m one of the luckiest people I know.

And then to top it all off, it’s now one o’clock in the afternoon and I’m in my PJ’s eating a bowl of fresh blueberries with a smile as big as head.  I’m awake, alert, happy, relaxed,

 

This is going to be one hell of a great two weeks.  🙂

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Grainne

My name is Grainne. This blog has been with me for years now and has served as a journal, a confessional, an outlet and a place for me to create and express my love of life. Thank you for stopping by and for becoming a part of this life long journey of mine. I appreciate every single one of you who takes the time to do so. :)

5 responses to “I can hardly believe my eyes”

  1. KittyHere says :

    Hope there are no delayed issues from the fall. Our iToys are like food, water, & shelter these days.
    So enjoyed the update on C & D. Sounds like they both have grown up a lot. Enjoy your long vacation.

    • Grainne says :

      Thanks, my friend. I love it when you comment here – It reminds me just how long you have been a part of my life. Colt was just starting school and Dayne had a long way to come to terms with Colt’s struggles then. They have, absolutely, grown up together….one learning from the other. It’s been much the same for me. 🙂

      This whole sleeping at night things is just doing wonders for my world too. xoxo I’m already enjoying my time off! I have done a big heap of nothing today. Dirty dishes are still in the sink and my butt is numb from sitting here on my laptop but I’m one happy Grainne 🙂

  2. Birdie says :

    I am more concerned about you! Falling down the stairs backwards? Hope you are okay.

    • Grainne says :

      Thanks Birdie – I am okay. I had a really sore couple of days but I went to see my physiotherapist on Monday and he checked me out and gave me some gentle stretches to try to help things relax again. I’m feeling 100 x better today, after a couple of relaxing days. xox

Leave a Reply

