Misophonia and the Man with the Mints

Just to be sure you all know that I experience something called “misophonia” which is a sensitivity to certain sounds. Upon hearing these particular sounds, sufferers can experience anything from mild annoyance to flat out rage. It’s a rather difficult thing to deal with at times in public but I usually do okay. When the PTSD symptoms are flares, however, it gets much more intense. That’s what’s going on now as I sit and wait for a doc I’ve never met to shove an IUD inside my uterus. (Yikes). 

********************************

Omg it’s dead quiet in this waiting room even though there are a dozen people here. No one is even breathing loud enough to hear, which is odd because I usually hear absolutely everything around me. Then. This old guy next to me (what the heck is he doing here anyway?  This is a gynocologist/fertility clinic and he is well past 70….

Sorry lost track. I was trying not to kill him. 

He is EATING some kind of mint that is crunchy on the outside and chewy on the inside and I can hear him CHEWING on the fuckimg things inside my own head. It’s making me so tense I feel like I could suddenly crack, scream and grab the damn plastic bag out of his hands and throw them in the garbage. They’re in a plastic bag too. A thick, extra crinkly one. 

*crinkle crinkle crinkle* 

*clink of hard candy shell om dentures* 

*clickity click as he moves it around his mouth*

*fucking disgusting sucking, slurping, saliva sounds*

*CRUNCH CRUNCH CRUNCH MOOSH MOOSH SLURP SUCK SWALLOW* 

How many can he possibly have in there?!!! 

This is torture. Now he’s picking at his fingernails. That happens to be the second worst noise. Oooh God now it’s both at once!  Is this a tolerance test?  Is there some paychiatric evaluation component to getting an IUD?  Fuuck I am struggling here.  

Having daydreams now. Grabbing the bag and shoving the entire contents into his mouth so it’s over and I don’t have to sit here and freak out anymore. How self focused is that?  Lol. Seriously though. The saliva noises are almost worse than the chewing. 

I was told I’m looking at a 45 min wait, at least. I just hope he is next. Whatever he’s here for. 

OH THANK GOD HES LEAVING.  

I can breathe again.  Alright. Back to being nervous. 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About Grainne

My name is Grainne. This blog has been with me for years now and has served as a journal, a confessional, an outlet and a place for me to create and express my love of life. Thank you for stopping by and for becoming a part of this life long journey of mine. I appreciate every single one of you who takes the time to do so. :)

10 responses to “Misophonia and the Man with the Mints”

  1. KittyHere says :

    My number one anxiety tigger is waiting around in any medical setting. I could never work or volunteer in health care. Any place else I am nonchalant about delays. Glad the guy left. But now I am craving a mint — the power of suggestion.

    • Grainne says :

      They actually smelled pretty good, I must admit. I am no fan of waiting rooms either. I don’t understand why they wouldn’t put on a radio at least…something to break that silence. xx

  2. breakingsarah says :

    oh how I feel for you, my fellow Misophonia sufferer! If it helps, I am currently at my work desk, listening to a coworker smack down on potato chips – LOUD as can possibly be! The day dreams are in my head too. HUGS to you!

    • Grainne says :

      You too?! I cannot handle potato chips. My husband and son won’t even eat them in the same room as me…lol. Poor boys. Dayne has found ‘quiet chips’ are easier to get by me like Pringles. (The things they put up with for me!)

      Do you have issues with raw carrots too? Those are almost at the top of my nope list.

      • breakingsarah says :

        ANY crunchy food gets to me! My top NO’s are people eating with their mouths open, gum chewing, my dog licking himself, and people clicking pens over and over. I have a ton realyl but these really send my over the edge instantly.

  3. Cat's Meow says :

    Chewing, slurping sounds are the worst! Hope it all went as ok as possible.

  4. Birdie says :

    Being Highly Sensitive I have so many noises that make my heart race. All of the ones you described. Another one is when people cut their finger nails! I have to leave the room or sometimes I have to go outside until they are done.

    How did the appointment go?

    • Grainne says :

      ugh fingernails! Colt bites his in little nibbles and it makes my head spin but Dayne sometimes absently picks at the callouses on the back of his heels when we’re sitting around watching TV and I’ve actually started giving him pedicures to prevent it.

      Appointment went really well, actually. Thanks for the love. xox

  5. ambivalencegirl says :

    Oh my goodness I was so pulled into that highly irritating space of nails on a chalkboard. Ughhhh glad it went well.

Leave a Reply

