A healing day

I had an amazing day yesterday. Once a year, on November 11th, I make the trip up to see the friend of mine who saved me from my miserable life on the streets when I was 19.  I’ve told this story before here, somewhere, but for those of you who are new to this blog, I’ll give a brief recap.

When I was 15 I was sent away from my foster family, dropped off downtown in a huge city, and left to fend for myself. I lived day by day that way until I was 19 when a friend I had met, Tiffany, became my living angel and gave me the chance I needed to get my life back together.  I met her as she was apprenticing at a tattoo shop that was close to the place I took shelter in the colder months (abandoned warehouse in a rather bleak neighbourhood).  Tiffany started buying me coffee when she got hers each morning on the way in and we would sit on the front step of the shop and share a smoke (also provided by her) and drink our coffee.  We became friends quickly…she was the same age as me and had so many of the same interests….plus, she never judged me for the state of my life and the way I had to live.  One particularly cold winter Tiff grew worried about me, knowing I had no warm place to stay, and she came to find me with blankets, an old winter coat and a thermos of hot coffee, but, after delivering these gifts she changed her mind and offered me a place on her couch until the weather cleared.  I happily took her up on the offer and after having the absolute best shower I’ve ever had in my entire life the moment I arrived, she gave me some clean, comfy clothes and fed me until I looked like I was pregnant, my stomach stuck out so far.  I can’t remember a better sleep than I had that night, warm on her incredibly comfortable futon couch, blankets piled all around me.  After that day, she asked me if I wanted to stay.  She bought me a few outfits for job interviews and I quickly got several part time jobs in retail and started paying my share of the apartment.  We were roommates from that point forward until several years later, we even moved from the big city together when she completed her apprenticeship.

So, Tiff really did change my entire world. When I got my first place on my own she drew me a beautiful piece of dragon artwork (she is a stunningly good artist) and gave it to me as a housewarming gift, telling me to never forget how strong I was and how the world was mine to take.  I loved that dragon so much.  My a-hole ex-husband destroyed it in a rage when I left him and I was devastated, however, shortly after that mess was behind me, Tiffany tattooed it on my back from shoulder to hip so I could carry it with me always.  All of the work I’ve had since are hers, of course, and she designs them all as she pleases.  I have never had to ask her to change a thing about any of her designs and she works hard to make them perfect for me.  Dayne, who had no ink when I met him, now has five pieces from her and they are all incredible.  He’s got a series of Celtic knots and shields, this last one a warrior knot for strength and it is just stunning.  He said I could post a photo of in when it heals so I’m going to do another ink post to show off our new work.

My ink, this time, was very special to me. I think it deserves a post of its own so I’ll get this one posted and will follow up with the story of my newest tattoo later today.

I feel so refreshed and peaceful today, after spending the day with my friend. I love her so much.  When we said good bye she squeezed me so hard and told me she loved me.  Dayne, Colt and Tiff are the best family I could have ever imagined.  I feel whole again….I didn’t realize how much I needed that.

More to come…stay tuned.

Tags: , , ,

About Grainne

My name is Grainne. This blog has been with me for years now and has served as a journal, a confessional, an outlet and a place for me to create and express my love of life. Thank you for stopping by and for becoming a part of this life long journey of mine. I appreciate every single one of you who takes the time to do so. :)

3 responses to “A healing day”

  1. KittyHere says :

    Thanks for telling the story of how kind some people really can be. I needed it today as I felt scolded by a “friend” because I am not as active as she thinks I should be.

  2. Birdie says :

    I love Tiffany. I do. She deserves to be sainted but like so many people who do good works without ever getting recognition she would likely turn it down. Because they don’t see themselves as special even though they are the humans who make this planet awesome.

Leave a Reply

