Happy Colt Happy Mom

Fun night last night.  🙂  We celebrated Colt’s birthday and it went off without a hitch!  He had a really fun day with his friends at the sitter’s place. Every year they go away for three weeks in August and it’s always been over his birthday so this was the first year he got to spend it with them.  He opened a pack of shopkins in the morning and refused to bust into it until he got to the sitter’s house so he could enjoy finding out who the hidden one was with his buddies.  So sweet.  These kids are true friends to Colt…not just kids who cater to him or tolerate him.  His whole class at school is really protective of him and they accept him for who he is in a way that shocks me sometimes, it’s so genuine.  I love those kids so much….I love them for what they have given my son.  He will grow up now always able to look back and remember friends.  There are always going to be mean people in the world and he has more than enough memories of that type of interaction too, but over all he’s going to remember that the people around him liked him.  It makes my heart nearly burst with joy and relief.  I couldn’t have asked for a better foundation to start from.  These kids at the sitter (they are her children and he’s known them since he started school at age 5) are more like siblings than anything else.  I take every chance I get to let them know how much I think of them and that they are wonderful little people who will, one day, grow into wonderful big people.  Thankful….so thankful.

So we had pizza and ice cream cake and presents and decorations and Colt couldn’t stop declaring this the “best birthday EVER!”  He thanked Dayne and I so many times….thanked us for every present, every bite of cake and pizza, every balloon.  He told us he loved us over and over and we requested we sing happy birthday to him at least a dozen times, which we gleefully accommodated.  I love to sing…went to school for music too.  I can carry a tune pretty well and one time, upon request, I sang him happy birthday to a made up and way over embellished tune and he was captivated.  The moment I finished he asked me to sing it again but to wait a moment.  He sat on the floor in front of me, closed his eyes and said “Okay go!” and smiled a smile broke my heart.  “I love it when you sing to me mom.  That was such beautiful singing!  Thank you so much for making a special birthday song just for me!”  he said when I finished.

I’m not even slightly exaggerating…these words just come pouring from this kid’s mouth.  He is such a gentle, soulful, appreciative, warm hearted and loving boy.  I tell him all the time that I’m so proud of who he is.  Such an amazing kid.

I’m very tired today, after all that excitement.  My focus is waning but I don’t really have time for that…so much to do at work…so much to catch up on and get done.  I’m trying to stay on task as much as possible so I don’t start wandering off in my brain.  Weird dreams last night. Will post about them later as I don’t want to dirty up this lovely post with my misery.

I am so happy I can make Colt so happy.  It’s enough for me, despite anything that gets thrown my way.  I’m going to go get a tea now and browse the photos I took of his smiling face.  🙂  Thanks to everyone who wished him a happy day.  He most definitely would want me to wish you the same.

Tags: , ,

About Grainne

My name is Grainne. This blog has been with me for years now and has served as a journal, a confessional, an outlet and a place for me to create and express my love of life. Thank you for stopping by and for becoming a part of this life long journey of mine. I appreciate every single one of you who takes the time to do so. :)

8 responses to “Happy Colt Happy Mom”

  1. KittyHere says :

    Enjoyed reading about how well the Bothday celebration went.

  2. Birdie says :

    This is all so excellent! Even with his challenges, we need more people like Colt in our world. In fact, I think when a person glides through life with no challenges they lose sight of what is important. I have worked with many people that have had an easier life and they just don’t seem to get what really matters.

  3. The Sound of Ed's Voice says :

    This just makes my day and melts my heart in a positive way!!

    People who are so o o negative about ASD kids make me angry!! This is proof how with the right time and environment they adjust just fine!! Look how much he loved his birthday and he CELEBRATED!! I hope others read this and start breaking the stigma!!

    • Grainne says :

      Thank you! I wish for the same. For those who are negative and cruel towards kids (and adults) on the spectrum, I always wonder what they would do if one of their own children had been born disabled. It’s so sad to see people work against each other…isn’t it? xxxx

  4. ayearofdeliberate says :

    So happy to hear how it went!!! Yay!!!! U are such a loving and dedicated mum 🙂

  5. mandy says :

    Nothing like knowing you pulled off a really happy birthday for your kids. Even more so when that child has challenges. Every child is special, Colt is no different. ❤

Leave a Reply

