Violent weather (dreams revisited)

Originally posted 2012/02/10

Last night, from the time I closed my eyes, I dreamed of the weather.

The skies were pure tornado green and deadly still.  It’s summer in my dream right now (the seasons do change but don’t necessarily match up with the actual seasons) and the grass was so green it was almost black, the flowers, blindingly bright, scattered throughout.  The trees were full of fruit ready to be picked…the branches on the apple trees hung so heavy they nearly touch the ground.  It felt like the entire world was fully ripe and ready for…something…completely undefined.

I could see the water rising up from the beach…a weird twisting pool of water that frothed and spat fish into the air by the dozen.  The clouds began to follow the cyclone from the sky moving in dizzying, massive circles, throwing off what looked like steam.  The cyclone started to rise as a column of water that was larger than anything I have ever seen – maybe 200 feet across?  It made a noise like a dentists suction tool as it sucked up water, pulling the tide back by feet.  I walked out to the new water line and put my hands in so i could feel the draw pulling me towards the column.

I wished I had my camera but then realized that I likely wouldn’t need it as the sky stopped swirling in twenty different places and began to rotate as one giant cloud…the entire sky moving in one direction.  I stood and stared until I  became totally disoriented.  Suddenly, he entire sky on all horizons started to drop, like it was coming down to meet the water, or the water was rising…I couldn’t quite tell which was moving at that point but it was a stunning thing to see.  It made me feel like I was in a box that was slowly being compacted and crushed.

It started to hail, then snow, then rain in thunderous buckets, the lightning flashing way above the swirling cloud cover and thunder, my god, that thunder felt like it was going to deafen me.  I remember the ground vibrating with the rumbles in between blasts.

I fell to my knees when the sky met the column of water. Everything exploded into light and sound and I could feel every grain of sand as it blew by my skin, every drop of water.  There was a sensation of being pushed and pulled and stretched and crushed all at once and I couldn’t get any air….it was like the storm was trying to suck me off the surface of the earth.  I lay down and started to bury myself in the sand, trying to find handholds, footholds, anything to hang on to, but when I finally made a hole deep enough the bottom fell out and I tumbled through into a pure, clean, dead silent pool.  I blew out every bit of breath I had and turned to watch the bubbles rise to the surface…floating there.  I took a great, deep breath in then, loving every moment of the intense burn of water filling my lungs, the relief that came with it, and when I was full of water I started to sink, on my back, looking up.  I felt my heart slow and stop as I gently floated to the bottom, wherever the bottom was, and I stared at the spot of light where I had dug through until it was gone.

Down there, in that blackness with the density of water holding me entirely, I remember thinking “Finally!”  And then I woke.

About Grainne

My name is Grainne. This blog has been with me for years now and has served as a journal, a confessional, an outlet and a place for me to create and express my love of life. Thank you for stopping by and for becoming a part of this life long journey of mine. I appreciate every single one of you who takes the time to do so. :)

Leave a Reply

