Thunder Dreams – revisited

Originally posted 2011/08/01

I was trying to get a shower.  There are multiple bathrooms in the place I live in my dreams but they are never working properly.  The one upstairs is an open room with a shower head on the wall.  The floor is tile so it doesn’t get damaged but the water just sprays everywhere when I turn the faucet on.  I try to keep it all contained but it never works.

I tried the downstairs shower after making a mess upstairs but there were people who needed to use the bathroom constantly.  They would knock on the door (the bathroom is right beside the front entrance) and just walk in.  I’d have to stop the water so they could flush…got to be such a pain I finally got out and went in search of another option.

I was standing on the wooden staircase, spindles hand carved into softly flowing shapes that were smooth to the touch and made me think of hour glasses, railing worn to a mirror-like finish by decades of hands sliding by.  I could see out the little windows on top of the door and watched as dark, black, threatening clouds rolled in.

I thought I’d go outside and stand in the rain when it came.  It seemed my only option…either that or jump in the ocean, but the waves were so choppy that day.  I suddenly remembered that we had a pool.  I was quiet for a moment, trying to remember the last time I had a swim.

The thunder started before I even got outside.  Standing on a concrete staircase I felt the shift in the air. The pressure was building and just as I took a breath the thunder made the world shake beneath my feet.  It wasn’t normal thunder at all…was far, far larger than what I was used to.  It sounded like a giant steel drum rumbling for miles and miles, I could hear the echoes of the echoes of the echoes in every direction and they went on for so long the next wave would hit before the last was even finished.

I walked to the beach to wait for the rain to fall.  I looked up at the black/green churning skies and out at the black/blue churning water and got lost somewhere in between them.  I wanted to float in the middle there, feeling the angry water and the furious sky fighting over me, one wanting to suck me down, down, down to the place where light doesn’t reach and the oxygen is gone; the other wanting to pull me up so high my body burst into a flock of birds that would soar away and leave me shattered above the clouds.

I took a deep breath and screamed through the rolling booms of thunder, “What are you waiting for?!”  and everything went quiet, still, silent…then the rain came.

First a light mist that I thought to be rising up from the water, then definite splashing drops on my skin.  Suddenly as if the storm clouds held buckets full to the brim, a solid wall of water crashed down to the earth with me right in the centre.  The water hit like something solid, squeezing my body flat to the ground.  I could feel my heart struggle to beat under the weight pressing down from above.

The water went on and on like that for ages, until the breath had long left my body.  I lay so still when it was over, I wasn’t even sure if I was still alive.  I didn’t care right then though.  I just kept my eyes closed and welcomed sleep, out there on the beach, my face pressed into coarse brown sand.  My eyes opened a tiny bit and I saw, close up, the tiny grains and stones that made up the sand I was face down in….I smiled.

Slept.

Tags:

About Grainne

My name is Grainne. This blog has been with me for years now and has served as a journal, a confessional, an outlet and a place for me to create and express my love of life. Thank you for stopping by and for becoming a part of this life long journey of mine. I appreciate every single one of you who takes the time to do so. :)

Leave a Reply

