Oh great. Just what I needed. 

Some asshat who was selling clothes outside the cafeteria today told me, flat out, that my ass was too big to fit nicely into his clothes. I mean, he didn’t say it in a cruel way and I know I have a big arse, it’s attached to the back of me for crying out loud, but he didn’t have to say it like that. It’s a freaking hospital, mid-day, outside the cafeteria that is teeming with people and staff and he says in a voice far louder than necessary, the my rear end was TOO BIG to fit into his crappy fashion forward clothes. He even pulled out different style and pointed out the flap of fabric that would cover my generous ass, and suggested it I try it on…just to see what he meant. 

I came away feeling lucky that no one asked if I was pregnant. I just lost 20 pounds. I was *just* feeling like I might be able to get away with some slightly more fitted clothes.  Sigh. Apparently not so much. 

I do have a booty. I’ve always had one but when I was a stick figure it was lovely. Now it’s just big. (A wonderfully kind nurse I used to work with was there looking at clothes and looked up in horror when she heard him announce my proportional issues. She told me people are paying to get implants to make their butt look like mine. I’m going to buy her a coffee tomorrow and take it to her on shift.)

So the battle between accepting my body for what it is and mourning what it was continues.  I’m currently drowning the thoughts with wine. Stupid round ass. Ah well at least I have a portable cushion right? (Fml) 

Tags: , , ,

About Grainne

My name is Grainne. This blog has been with me for years now and has served as a journal, a confessional, an outlet and a place for me to create and express my love of life. Thank you for stopping by and for becoming a part of this life long journey of mine. I appreciate every single one of you who takes the time to do so. :)

12 responses to “Oh great. Just what I needed. ”

  1. pattyspathtohealing says :

    You know what? I am so mad at that Fucking asshole man. He has no right to comment on any body’s body. Our bodies are our own freaking personal business . Ugh. I’m so sorry you had to encounter a nasty man like that.

  2. Birdie says :

    I would have freaked out on his ass. I am with patty. Who the hell does he think he is to make comments about your body?

  3. Ain't No Shrinking Violet says :

    I might have thrown some fucking water on him…what an ASS.

    Speaking of asshats, today I was carrying some apples in the pockets of my scrub shirt. It looked kind of buldgy and weird, and some guy made a comment. When I showed him they were apples, he said they’d look *better in my bra* (I’m not well endowed at all). That happened to me at 4pm today. Apparently the assholes come out at that time.

    • Grainne says :

      Holy shit!!! That’s absolutely unreal! How do people thing they can get away with that crap in this day and age? Can you even imagine poking fun at some make stranger over a body part? I mean, even if he was standing there in a speedo and had the smallest penis on the planet, would you point it out? Of course not. What the f is wrong with some folks?

      We should start our own island. Heh. X

  4. The Sound of Ed's Voice says :

    What an ass!!! Hahaha funny since that’s what we are talking about…

    I was reading on someone else’s blog how people told them comments on their body too. What is wrong with people?! Do we ask for your opinion?!? The. Keep it to yourself! If I ask then yes give it to me!! Until then. STFU!!! It’s not needed not warranted!! Like what does it establish?! You are a pathetic human being because you pointed out someone’s possible insecurity?! Shit!!

    • Grainne says :

      No kidding! He wasn’t exactly Mr Suave himself but I didn’t immediately want to walk up and boop him on the top of his male-pattern-bald head. Sheesh. People.

  5. anxietybug88 says :

    Don’t be ashamed of your butt! I wish I had one like yours. That salesman was a jerk who wouldn’t know good customer service if it walked up and slapped him in the face.

  6. 81bowman says :

    “So the battle between accepting my body for what it is and mourning what it was continues”

    What a profound statement of the human condition……from where I stand your ass and all the rest of you are just fine……but then I’m not the most objective judge. The world is full of asses…..wish more of them were like you.

Leave a Reply

