Ink (Just for fun) 

I love tattoos. I love the meaning behind them and the ones that mean nothing. I love that people own their own skin and can decorate it to carry things they love with them always. I love it when people are not afraid to express who they are, however they want. 

Here is some of my work to date. 

   
    
    
    
   

     
The last two are for you Birdie. 🙂 

Some of mine have stories, some have special meaning. I have more than I’m showing here. 

Dayne also has some beautiful work. He said i could post a few so here you go: 

   
   

 Hope you guys enjoyed my little photo session. 😜 
 

Tags: , , ,

About Grainne

My name is Grainne. This blog has been with me for years now and has served as a journal, a confessional, an outlet and a place for me to create and express my love of life. Thank you for stopping by and for becoming a part of this life long journey of mine. I appreciate every single one of you who takes the time to do so. :)

12 responses to “Ink (Just for fun) ”

  1. Birdie says :

    Do you design your own tattoos? They are amazing!
    And thanks for the closeup 🙂

    • Grainne says :

      Thanks! My trust is entirely in my artist. She designs and tattoos all of my work. Dayne’s too. We give her the idea and she designs. The dragon is a bit more special. She drew her for me as a gift back when I got off the streets and, after moving in with her for a while, got my own place. I hung it on my wall and it was a part of my life until my jerk ex husband destroyed it in a fit of jealousy one night. She inked it on me for my 30th birthday present so it would never been taken from me again. 🙂 The tattoo is slightly different from the painting but close enough and the thought….second kindest thing anyone has ever done for me. 🙂 xx

      • Birdie says :

        That is such a great story. Well, not that your ex husband destroyed her drawing but that rest of it.
        What was the first kindest thing?

      • Grainne says :

        Ah, I forget you don’t know the story! I used to write about it here all the time years ago.

        Tiffany is about my age. We met in Toronto where I lived homeless for four years. She was apprenticing at a tattoo shop that was very close to a building I used to sleep in with a bunch of kids I barely knew and we would be in the same area at the same time every day…we got to know each other they way you might start chatting with a fellow train passenger on a daily commute. :). She was really kind to me…started bringing me coffee most mornings and we would sit together and have a smoke outside her work. One winter, the last one I was out there, we had a super cold snap and the city was forcing the homeless into shelters so we didn’t freeze to death overnight but they were so crowded and dangerous I was hesitant to go. She said she couldn’t stop thinking of me out there and was worried so she came down in her car with blankets and a spare ski jacket and thermoses of coffee and soup…she found me but instead of giving me the stuff she invited me to stay at her place until the weather passed. She let me use her shower (HEAVEN. That was the best shower I have ever had in my life, that night) and gave me some clothes to borrow and then she just never asked me to leave. I used her address (and her wardrobe! Lol) to get a job in a retail store and we became roommates. That summer she moved to the city I live in now to work in tattoo shop when her internship ended and I moved with her. I got a job in that shop (and two other retail stores) and eventually made enough to get my own place. :). The dragon painting was her housewarming gift.

        Doesn’t get much better than that does it? She singlehandedly restored my faith in humanity. She was only 19 at the time. :):):)

      • Birdie says :

        OMG. That restores my faith in humanity! What a beautiful soul she is.

  2. The Sound of Ed's Voice says :

    Omg how gorgeous are you???!!!!?!? You are so damn pretty!!! And you little thing!!! Love all your ink!!

    I’m such a chicken and would only come out with a new beauty mark!! Hahaha I have piercings instead! One hole and it is done!! My piercings all have stories too so I love that too!!

    Idk why but I love your star! It’s placement and those stars just call to me!!

    I decided, if I live and best anorexia, I am getting a tattoo and it is going to be white ink or black light ink of the eating disorder symbol.

    My sister Andy has several and it’s funny because she is afraid to do piercings. Opposites I guess.

    I just love sparkly things!!!

    • Grainne says :

      Thank you lovely! You’re a sweetheart to say such things. The star was the first tattoo I got on my back and the only piece that was done by someone other than Tiffany (my awesome friend and artist). It’s a nautical star…points the way home. That was the idea behind it anyway. 🙂

  3. ~meredith says :

    You restore my faith in humanity, beautiful beastie. I cried harder the farther I scrolled down the page.

    Thank you for your reason in being. <3. Meredith

  4. Pen says :

    I adore all your ink. Especially the house and the swirling leaves. Autumn leaves are actually special friendship-wise for me. I don’t know if you’ve ever heard the song “Autumn and Me” by Saving Jane, but that has a lot of meaning for me. I’ve been meaning to get an autumn leaf because of it.

    I also love Dayne’s justice scales. I’m about to get a piece that will include some justice scales.

Leave a Reply

