Dreaming of anywhere but here

Blech.  It’s six am and I’m in my office.  Came in to catch up so can’t spend my time on a blog but….dreams last night.  For crying out loud….I think I’d just rather stay awake and get things done all night if dreaming is going to be so exhausting.

Last dream this morning I was visiting some family members I didn’t know I had.  They live in a  part of town I’ve never been to in my dreams – back to the area surrounded by water.  It’s a lake, not an ocean, and has a strong feeling of being around where I really live.  Their house was a two storey back split but the entire first floor was a giant garage/storage space and the main entrance to the home was up a flight of stairs at the front right corner.  Inside, I remember everything down the 80’s furniture and the sunny orange and brown kitchen.  Out back there were a run of animal stalls containing everything from hamsters to horses and they kept taking Colt out there to see the animals of which he was terrified.  I wanted to see the animals (I love animals – always have) so bad but they kept taking Colt instead and he was pleading with me to make them stop.  I kept trying to take his place but they were having none of it.  Little boys love this stuff….that’s all they kept telling me no matter how I explained otherwise.

Eventually I got out there and was having fun petting the animals when they called me back in.  They had a baby giraffe (?!) inside and they finally relented to let me see it.  I went back in and was in love with the huge baby animal.  It bit, constantly, but I didn’t care and kept playing with it as it nipped at my skin (what is with these dreams about animals biting me lately?) It started following me everywhere I went and was getting over excited; a rather serious problem when you’re dealing with a baby animal that stands five feet tall inside the house.  They told me to leave for a walk so they could calm it down so I strapped on a pair of inline skates and went for a zoom.  I used to LOVE skating.  Dayne and I (in real life) used to skate for miles together when we first met.  We’d get back to the truck exhausted after hours of racing each other as fast as we could go…it felt wonderful.  I couldn’t get twenty feet today without completely exhausting myself…lol.  (Cries).  The dream skate was awesome though.  I went down their street and to the docks where there was a small shipping yard and hundreds of interconnected floating wooden docks to navigate.  I skated out so far I couldn’t see the land anymore, only floating platforms bobbing gently in the warm lake water.  I thought “I could drop dead right now and I’d be satisfied with life…” Smiled, and then started to hear a strange sound floating over the clouds.  I distinctly remember thinking: “Aw fuck.  That’s my alarm.  I don’t want to leave this place right now!”

And I was awake.  It was 5 am and was time to get up for work.  I can still remember the freedom of floating on those platforms.  I didn’t worry about falling in or keeping my balance and I had energy to go much, much further.  I wanted to so badly.  I can still smell the water and feel that emptiness of the air around me.  (and then I look to my right and the paperwork giggles and points).

Back to work.  Back to reality.  I went to sleep at 6 last night so I got a decent 11 hours.  Hoping it will hold me until noon when I’ll start loading up with coffee.

(PS my face seems to be getting a tiny bit better.  Still swollen as hell but the pressure is ever so slightly reduced.  Hopeful anyway.)  Yay.

Tags: , ,

About Grainne

My name is Grainne. This blog has been with me for years now and has served as a journal, a confessional, an outlet and a place for me to create and express my love of life. Thank you for stopping by and for becoming a part of this life long journey of mine. I appreciate every single one of you who takes the time to do so. :)

3 responses to “Dreaming of anywhere but here”

  1. ambivalencegirl says :

    Maybe the giraffe symbolizes the bizarreness of your past made to seem as if nothing was wrong but yet there’s a giraffe in the middle of the room. *smile* You and I are certainly dreamers as of late

Leave a Reply

