It’s the last day of school!  Very last day of grade 5!  Colt woke with a smile and bounced out of bed singing about how he was almost there!  Almost there!  

“I made it mom!  I made it to grade 6!” He cheered. 

I smiled so hard my cheeks hurt. 

Yesterday, I got a text early in the morning from Colts teacher. She had written to tell me that Colt would be getting another award at today’s assembly. They have a wonderful program where once per month they give out awards to students who have shown great leadership, maturity, excellence in studies, or other such niceties. It’s something that used to help keep students motivated and I think it’s a lovely idea. Colt was nominated for an appreciation award a few months back because he has a lovely way about him of thanking people for the things they do for him. He’s been that way all his life. I wrote about it in this blog and was so happy to be able to participate in such a proud moment for him. It was great news to hear that they will be awarding him again, this time for showing determination and the will to improve so dramatically.  He’s super excited and so proud of himself and Dayne and I both figured out how to skip off work so we could attend. I’m going to have to work some pretty serious overtime and he’s probably going to get yelle at but I don’t think either of us would’ve missed it for the world. 

I find myself with a tiny bit of extra time on my hands as they word ceremony is not until nine.  I got to help Colt get ready this morning instead of the doorway watching them leave, the song “schools out for summer “playing out loud on Dayne’s phone. *giggles*. 

Sometimes life is just for love.  ðŸ™‚ Happy summer to all of those of you with kids!  I hope their days are full of smiles too. 

  

About Grainne

My name is Grainne. This blog has been with me for years now and has served as a journal, a confessional, an outlet and a place for me to create and express my love of life. Thank you for stopping by and for becoming a part of this life long journey of mine. I appreciate every single one of you who takes the time to do so. :)

2 responses to “”

  1. ambivalencegirl says :

    oh my goodness, I love this.

  2. 81bowman says :

    Way to go Mom… 🙂

Leave a Reply

