Oh my aching bones 

Well. If ever I realized punishment for being antisocial and friendless it is right about now. That was too much to have done on our own. Sad part is we are not finished yet. I’m not hurting (yet) in the crippling places like my neck and head but WOW I am not accustomed to this level of physical activity. 

We have so much crap. I mean, we pulled five dressers down the stairs yesterday. Five. There are three of us here and we have a two bedroom house. Okay, we have no closets here so maybe that accounts for four of them but the fifth was just full of crap. Oh shit…six!  One was holding our TV and stuff. (We are still not caught up to the wall mounted TV stage of life although we have achieved 40-something inch flat screen. Mind you, we don’t have cable or anything so…why bother?) 

We moved a washer, two couches, a big old desk, a dozen bags of garbage, a stove and a freezer to the dump yesterday and moved most of the rest to the new place. I’m sitting here on the floor staring at  the very concerning remaining contents. How do we have more?!  

So. Beds to dissemble and drag downstairs. (Dreading). Another load to the dump. Or three if we can’t extend the truck rental.). Fridge needs to be loaded and moved (thankful as you wouldn’t believe for that dolly right about now).  And then we have the last bits to move and then we clean.  I’ve been cleaning as we go so it’s not terrible but I have to clean the carpets and that machine is heavy. My arms and legs already say noooooooooooooooooo. 

If you have any energy to spare, may I borrow it today? Lol. Next time we take out a loan of we have to and hire movers.  Poor Dayne had been lifting and hauling for a week straight. He just looked at me when I woke him this morning. 

“Can’t we just leave the rest?”  He pleaded. 

I’m in. Would so love to just get in my car, drive to the new place and sleep for a week. On the floor.  Who needs beds anyway?  

So. If nothin else, I’ve learned that one should keep a few friends that will help you move, if nothing else. This is more than a two person job. And I’m pulling my weight too….despite the broken body. Might be the last time I feel able and independent so I might as well make it a good one though. 

(Grainne’s body protests) 

About Grainne

My name is Grainne. This blog has been with me for years now and has served as a journal, a confessional, an outlet and a place for me to create and express my love of life. Thank you for stopping by and for becoming a part of this life long journey of mine. I appreciate every single one of you who takes the time to do so. :)

3 responses to “Oh my aching bones ”

  1. Ain't No Shrinking Violet says :

    It’s amazing you’ve done as much as you have. I will never move without movers again either…and if I have to, I’ll only take a suitcase of clothing. Because there is no way all that lifting is worth it to this busted up body. You’re going to be sore for awhile I think. Congrats on your new place with that fantastic bathroom and garage!

  2. 81bowman says :

    It will be worth it….good riddance to the old land lady….I don’t understand cleaning her carpet? Call it normal wear and tear and be done with it. You have done well Grainne.

  3. The Sound of Ed's Voice says :

    Stay strong!! Thinking of all that relaxing once it’s alllll done!!

Leave a Reply

