Well then 

Theres a bunch of good and a little bad for this post. I shall start with the bad to get it out of my system. 

Of course, my father is making a regular appearance in my dreams these days thanks to the goings on in life right now. Last night he took me shopping at a store I had not dreamed of since I was a teenager. It is full of junk, shelves and tables and bins of junk, but right by the cash register is a collection of dildos. Hundreds of them in all shapes, sizes and colours. I don’t really want to think about those two things, dildos and my father, on the same page but there it is. Little notes of trauma sneaking into my thoughts again. I woke in a cold sweat and have been trying to shake the image for hours now. Well, the feeling really, not just the image. 

Now The Good, which is far more interesting anyway.  We got access to our new place yesterday and I got to take Colt inside to see it. He is Estatic, much to our relief. This kid has been so level-headed and trusting through this transition, something I did not expect at all. He doesn’t transition to change well on the whole. He LOVED his new room and way so happy to see everything. He’s already making plans to built a train track around the entire deck to reenact a Thomas the Tank Engine story he’s always wanted to play out. 

“Oh mom!  I can’t believe I’ll finally be able to do it!  I’ve been waiting for 20 years to do it!” He happily sang out as he threw his arms around me in thanks, as if we picked this house for that reason alone. Lol. (PS he’s only been alive for 10 years so far haha!)

 The house is actually nicer than I remember it being which is super fun…i generally don’t do the “Rose tinted” deal and most often have a more grim perception than reality, rather than the other way around. I’ve had enough disappointment in my life, I think. Anyway, the place is really nice. The landlord is in there right now pouring a new floor to one of the showers and, having noticed a slight bow in the deck, he’s decided to tear the middle boards up and replace them for us. We were all “no no you don’t have to do all that for us!” (We are rather used to slumlords you see) but he was adamant. He said he wants the place to be perfect for us.  He worked out a few deals with Dayne, who is very handy and can do just about anything given the right tools and a free weekend…professionally too, so we will get a few chunks knocked off our rent here and there. This guy is for real….actually concerned about the place and is right on the money with keeping it up to code. Honestly, I don’t think we’re paying enough for it. Look at my bathroom:  

   
Wow eh?  Not too shabby for a rental!  

So there’s a great kitchen for Dayne, loads of closets and storage space (we have ONE crappy little closet in our current place. One!! And that’s including the bedrooms!). It has got two bathrooms (the one above has been claimed by me lol), a double headed shower (one on either wall), a huge double sink in the kitchen, a double garage with a full lift set up for cars and a paint shop/weld shop full of fun things like plasma cutters and professional paint sprayers ….. Properly ventilated too. Dayne was drooling over the equipment when the landlord came by. 

“You’re more than welcome to use anything here as long as you clean up when you’re done”. 

Dayne nearly cried while thanking him. Lol. Our new landlord owns an auto shop and his brother uses the second half of his shop for a small engine repair business. The equipment is theirs  but is the older stuff. They keep it in our garage as a back up, just in case. Oh!  And he also has some snow machines and a wicked set of four wheelers he also said we could borrow when we wanted.  

Haha. What??? I thought he was teasing. Nope. Was quite serious. 

So.  Along with the repairs he’s doing now, he’s also offered to run a natural gas line to the deck for Daynes smoker and BBQ, since we use them year round. …. Uhh sure!  Thanks!  He’s going to hit up the quarry near here to get a slab of rock to make a platform for the smoker as well. He says he’ll drive it over on his tractor. (Which has a lawn and snow attachment that he said we could borrow if we ever want to come get it, about 29 minutes away. Suggested it might be a good experience for Colt – learning to drive the tractor and cut the lawn). 

Around this point I started to feel like I was making this all up in my head. But, it’s all very real and every time we talk to the guy it gets better. 

Right now Dayne is over at the auto shop installing a free alarm system for the guy. He’s also going to wire up a new network system for him …. We have a room full of cable. Cat 5 and 6 I hear. (Means little to me but is apparently expensive and excellent for Internet and communications). I wish I could bake cause I’d be making him cookies or something.  

How this happened to us is amazing me. Keep in mind, this landlord emailed me out of the blue and asked if we would like to rent his place. This was before we were told by our current landlords that we had to move. It was, quite literally, dropped into my lap. This is the opposite of how things usually go and I’m so grateful I’m finding myself going out of my way to help as many other people as possible, just to keep the good energy flowing. 

Since we’ve been let in early we have cleared out a ton of stuff from the current place so all we will have to move next weekend is the furniture. I just can’t stop smiling at how wonderful this all is. So thankful. So grateful. I think this will be a great news start for my little family.  Finally. 🙂 

 This is my view from he kitchen window. Look how much sun comes in!!  I can’t wait for this week to be over so I can kiss this old place goodbye. 🙂

Oh!  Side note. The current bitch landlady smashed the lock on the front door and came in here last week. She also set one of the dogs to run over to Colt, who is terrified of dogs because of those ill behaved pups. I adore dogs so would not mind them running up but Colt is so scared of them because they jump and nip and scream at you when you drive in. I was in the bedroom with the window open and heard her say “what was that!  Go see!  Go get him!” To the dog who then came barking and snarling at Colt who was getting in the car with his dad. Colt screamed, so afraid, and Dayne grabbed the dog by the scruff and dragged her back to their side. After the two drove off I heard her telling her husband that Dayne had kicked the dog and now she was limping. Was going to make us pay the vet bill. The husband said, yeah, well, if it was one of our kids being attacked by a dog I would have shot it, not kicked it. And left her with her mouth hanging open. Hate this woman. Good bye and good luck in life, you miserable hag. 

Yay!!  Moving sooooooon!  

About Grainne

My name is Grainne. This blog has been with me for years now and has served as a journal, a confessional, an outlet and a place for me to create and express my love of life. Thank you for stopping by and for becoming a part of this life long journey of mine. I appreciate every single one of you who takes the time to do so. :)

5 responses to “Well then ”

  1. KittyHere says :

    So thrilled you move into a nice place soon.

  2. Birdie says :

    That bathtub is PERFECT for you! Get yourself some Epsom salts and take some long, long soaks!

  3. ambivalencegirl says :

    It looks so nice and clean and inviting. And I want to move in with you.

    • Grainne says :

      It’s awesome, my new place. You can come live with me! You would love that tub….even if you’re not a bath person. I think I had the best bath of my entire life this weekend after hauling all of our stuff into the house. Candles, wine, locked door and nothing but relaxation. 🙂

      • ambivalencegirl says :

        LoL, funny that you might know I’m not a bath person. It looks inviting but I don’t think I’ve taken a bath as an adult. But yes, I want to come live with you LoL
        Hopefully you’re all done moving stuff and started to feel a bit settled.

Leave a Reply

