Could it be…

…that now he’s actually dead?  If it was my brother or sister my mother wouldn’t have run over to my father’s wife’s house to call me at work.  Did I mention that the caller ID was still in his name and not his wife’s?  Will they let you keep a phone that had your deceased husbands initial in front of it?  Holy shit was he alive??  Is he still?  Again, I cannot even picture a situation where my mom would go there. 

Why didn’t she recognize my voice!!!?  She didn’t sound like she was suffering dementia of any sort. She is from the UK and my step mother is (was?) from another country with an entirely different accent. No mistaking it. 

(Goddamnit what the hell…”that’s not her voice”?  I would know that woman by the way she knocked on the damn door. How do you not recognize your own daughters fucking voice?)  

Okay. Even if he was still alive and then died and they told my mother, which they would I guess, she would have to travel across the city by bus to get to her ex husbands widow’s place. Okay?  So then she gets there…and in the weird moments that followed she decided to pick up the phone and call my workplace?  She’d have to have gone through switchboard to get to me and there just aren’t many Grainne’s around these parts, and then, when she got my voice mail she decided it wasn’t me after all. Some other Grainne then?  Who works at my work place and shares her last name?  

Dayne thought maybe they were reading a will, and I can sort of buy that except I’m quite sure I’m not in his will anywhere. I’m also certain that my mother, his ex wife of more than 20 years, whom he despised, would not be in there either, especially considering the fact that his current wife is still around. Maybe he killed her….the current. Maybe he’s in jail and she’s a bloated dead corpse on the living room floor and, for some reason, my mother (who never once set foot in his house for the last 20 years) went by and decided to pop in and call me at work…and then changed her mind.  

Sigh. This is stupid. I should just call back shouldn’t I?  I don’t know if I can do that. Birdie, thanks for the idea. I’ll see if Dayne will pretend he’s someone else and call to ask for him. Not sure he will though. He likes to stay out of my family’s goings-on.  (As you might imagine, based on this insanity that I apparently cannot control the moment any of them are trying to reach me.)

Maybe he wasn’t dead. He has to be now though, although that still doesn’t explain why she was at his house. 

Ahh unless she doesn’t want me to have her new phone number?  (But come on, you could use call block in the 80’s. Surely she can figure out how to block her own number?). 

This is stupid. 

About Grainne

My name is Grainne. This blog has been with me for years now and has served as a journal, a confessional, an outlet and a place for me to create and express my love of life. Thank you for stopping by and for becoming a part of this life long journey of mine. I appreciate every single one of you who takes the time to do so. :)

7 responses to “Could it be…”

  1. Birdie says :

    Now I am curious! You will have to keep us posted on this one.

  2. Alaina says :

    If this were a movie I would be choking on my popcorn now. I’m going to be checking your blog all night for updates.

    I hope you can keep calm. Although I don’t see how you possibly can.

    • Alaina says :

      Checking back…. no news yet? Saying a prayer~

    • Grainne says :

      Lol!! Yup. That sounds about right.
      Thanks for being here. No news yet. :/

      • Alaina says :

        No news yet? I would be breathing into a paperbag to keep from hyperventilating now, if I were you.

        The crazy things that happen in severely dysfunctional families — no one would even believe this stuff unless they also came from such a family.

      • Grainne says :

        I’m not feeling as relaxed as I look. Just keeping myself ahead of my thoughts. Luckily, I have to pack my house so it eats up a ton of energy. Xx

Leave a Reply

