Resolution

Okay.  You know how I say that I don’t really believe that everything happens for a reason?  I mean, I do…kind of, but really, I think life is a collection of events that are driven by the choices you make.  I know for a fact that I end up in certain situations because I put myself there.  Sometimes I’m trying to end up somewhere else but by following the same footsteps generally ends me up where I always end up.  I think we all do this to ourselves and it’s hard to see because it’s so ingrained into our thought processes.  Now, that said, I am also coming to believe that doing nothing is also a choice.  To explain:

Dayne and I have been looking casually for a new place to rent (or a cheaper place to buy – the town we live in is well above our income bracket to own) since we moved there eight years ago.  We have rented the same cold, unfinished, tiny, converted cottage all this time.  This winter just passed was so cold there were days I couldn’t convince myself to leave the couch to go pee.  It’s not exactly luxurious, but, since it’s just the three of us it was fine.  Inexpensive on rent and fine.  Still, we looked.  I happened upon a place for rent in town about a year and a half ago on a free posting board and contacted the owner by email.  I had missed the rental by two days but he said he’d keep my contact info just in case it came available again.  Last week, I got an email from him letting me know that the property will be available for rent again this summer and he asked if we wanted to come by and see it.  We thought about it and decided not to bother will all the expense.  I hadn’t answered the guy though….for some reason.

Then Saturday happened.  We had just been out to get groceries and as we returned the landlords called to us from across the field.

“We have some bad news guys.  We are going to have to ask you to move out this summer.”

Their oldest daughter is graduating university and the rental house on their land was always to be hers once she was done school.  They had said nothing but we had been hearing screaming battles between them recently so we knew something was up.  The husband was so compassionate….told us flat out it wasn’t us, we were great tenants, he loved having us live there.  He apologized so many times it began to lose meaning and told us over and over that the only reason he was even considering asking us to leave was for his daughter.  The one thing we totally understand is family….I told him so; thanking him for being so kind and for having us so long (8 years!).  He said he’d provide us with a great reference and had even arranged for us to see a tiny place friends of theirs were willing to rent us so we could keep Colt in the same school until he goes to high school.  I don’t have to explain how much that particular kindness was appreciated.

So.  We panicked.  Dayne started tumbling into fear, telling me we were about to lose everything; we’d have to move to the cheapest and most delinquent area of town in the city we work in, pulling Colt from his class and his friends.  I panicked with him but then, realizing we maybe still had another option, I quickly emailed the other guy back to see where that place stood.  The moment he answered with “Oh yes, it’s still available.  I was waiting to see if you wanted to swing by and have a look before I advertised.” I exhaled and felt the stress leaking right out of me.

Monday we went around to see the place.  There is a huge two car garage on the lot and Dayne had well convinced himself that it was not included.  I didn’t want to get his hopes up so I let him think that without investigating further.   Upon our arrival to the place on Monday afternoon, we watched our possible future landlord drive up in a very nice truck and before we’d even crossed the street I asked about the garage.

“I do keep a few things in the back, locked up, but yes, the whole thing is yours if you rent the place.” was his reply.

Dayne just about giggled, he was so elated.  He’s been missing a garage for so long…we’ve never rented a place that had one included.  This one is set up as a shop, is heated, alarmed and will provide tons of space for all his tools.  The man has many, many tools.  lol

The place is amazing as well.  It’s a lovely two bedroom so not too big to heat in the winter or keep cool in the summer.  It has central air.  (!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)  It has a real kitchen with counter space AND a place to put a table.  This will be the first time we’ve had a kitchen table since before Colt was born.  The place comes with appliances (our fridge is just about to die, our stove hasn’t worked for well over a year, our washer is leaking and our dryer is coming with us).  It has a deck.  A deck!  Did I mention the double garage??  It’s kind of like a little dream come true for us.  Colt isn’t stressed in the least about the move (yet) because we’ve presented it to him as a brand new adventure for our family.  The other benefits that he doesn’t realize yet is that all of his school mates will be living right around us.  Right now we’re outside the town on a busy road.  We will be moving right close to his school onto a freaking beautiful pie shaped lot so no one is looking into our back yard.  *Happy Sighs*  it’s pretty amazing.

So.  Sometimes when you make the choice to do nothing, the world changes around for you without bothering to ask your permission.  We had this place dropped in our laps BEFORE we were told we had to move.  When does that ever happen?!

Dayne has been all cuddly and sweet since then.  He’s saying this is all me…I am the one who brought in this opportunity and the wonderful energy that goes with it.  The landlord said he’s happy to rent to us.  We’ve already accepted.  That one, was meant to be.  I can’t think of anything more perfect to have happened.  We went from stressed to resolution in less than 48 hours.  Neat huh?

I always enjoy new starts.  I’m so looking forward to purging nearly everything in our current place so we can start fresh at the new one.  I’m going to get a tan this year.  Deck!!!!!  God I love to lie out on a nice warm deck.  The lot is amazing too….neighbours are around us but they all have pie shaped lots and the houses are turned slightly away from each other.  I am SO excited for this change.  So excited.

Happy things keep coming my way.

I got to see my dearest friend Tiffany yesterday, which will be another post at some point.  I also got flowers from the staff today….they just wanted to say thanks for everything I do for them.  Could this day get any better?

Happy Grainne.  I’m tired, I have a headache bigger than my actual head and I’m cold sweating like crazy but I couldn’t care less.  It’s a good, good day.  😀

Tags: , , , , ,

About Grainne

My name is Grainne. This blog has been with me for years now and has served as a journal, a confessional, an outlet and a place for me to create and express my love of life. Thank you for stopping by and for becoming a part of this life long journey of mine. I appreciate every single one of you who takes the time to do so. :)

12 responses to “Resolution”

  1. Dennis says :

    Good stuff good news for a change chickie 😀

  2. A Journey With You says :

    Congratulations! I love when everything turns out!

  3. KittyHere says :

    When you wrote about having to move I thought of all the things you did not have in the old place—mainly heat. So happy the new place “fell into your lap” so you do not have to stress out.

    • Grainne says :

      I’m so happy about that part too! I know they’re not expecting the utilities to be so high or the house to be so cold in winter but they will soon learn. (Hugs) xox

  4. Pen says :

    So very happy for you. You utterly, completely deserve this windfall. I hope you get a lovely tan without any painful sunburn ❤

  5. The Sound of Ed's Voice says :

    I am so ecstatic for you!! Especially since you had such a rough year!! Seems 2015 is going to be an amazing one for you!! Sitting on your deck getting your tan on while Colt plays and Dayne plays with his tools in his shed!! I’m so happy!!

    • Grainne says :

      Thank you! It’s still not quite sinking in for me. Things never seem to go this easily. Lol. (Hugs!). Hope today is a good one for you. Xo

  6. Birdie says :

    OMG! This is just so awesome. You really deserve some space to breathe, emotionally, physically and financially. Yay!

Leave a Reply

