Work whine

Well then. So much for having a nice clear start to my day.

I’m rather behind on work right now. I busted my arse yesterday and got a multitude of tasks done for the boss who is not on vacation this week (the psycho one). I emailed so much out I was feeling really good…I even got payroll almost completed early. I still have a mountain of things to do but I was getting somewhere at least…or so I thought.

Crazy boss just wasted an hour and a half of my morning on the phone with things that are not within my control or influence and then wrapped up by telling me how much I suck. She went off on me, telling me all about how she feels like nothing of hers is getting done and that she thinks I’m spending all my time doing work for the other manager. *sigh*.

“Really?” I managed to say in a calm voice somehow.

I just spent last week doing everything she asked for in moment and got her all caught up on everything. She’s upset that I’m not running enough audits or the correct audits. She’s pissed that I do tasks for the other manager that I don’t do for her. She’s mad about the list of tasks I gave her even though I painstakingly went through each tasks I do to make sure I’m being fair about splitting my time. I’m 50% hers and 50% the other and , when you get right down to it, THAT is the thing crazy doesn’t like. She even said it.

“I don’t think you’re prioritizing my work. I know ‘other boss’ pays half your salary but I have more people and more work to do. I could have a full time assistant and keep her busy you know!”

Yes, I know. Obviously. I’m the sucker trying to cram 40 hours a week of your work into 20.

When the balance shifts, the other boss gets mad at me. She is angry and unfriendly and it makes me feel like a complete failure. The other boss does a lot of her own admin work and feels ripped off when she sees me spending the bulk of my time on the other ones work, and rightly so! Especially since crazy wastes my time constantly.

In our meeting a couple weeks back, crazy was making me justify the (tiny) amount of time I had indicated that I spend on following up with her staff because they don’t check their email or voicemail. Crazy instantly defended them.

“Uhh these are professionals Grainne. They cannot be expected to check their email every day!”

The other bosses eyes opened wide at that response and she verbally disagreed with the stance, saying that she would happily make that a requirement for her staff. (Her staff are never a problem, mind you). Crazy responded and reconfirmed that she will not expect that of her clinicians and that was that. I told her, clearly, that if she choose to have me spend my time chasing her staff around, that was fine but she needed to understand it would have to take the place of another task. She had nothing to say but I don’t think it clicked because she then went on to explain how upset she was that I was doing things for the other boss that I wasn’t doing for her.

…. Yes, remember? You prioritized chasing your staff around. The other boss prioritized her departments website design and maintenance. That’s how it works. But no. That is not acceptable in her eyes. She wants both. NOW.

It’s impossible to please her.

She complained that I had only submitted some reports to her one day ahead of time. We have done this same report numerous times in the last six months and it’s always been the day before but now it’s no good. She had to do them at HOME for crying out loud. (She spends all night, every night doing work but whatever). Last month I worked some free ot and got her a month ahead. You want to know when she opened the email? The day before. I can’t win.

She wants processes and reports and scheduling, payroll, financial reconciliation, budget management and full hr support out of me but won’t allow me the time to do the same for the other; she just doesn’t think that’s fair. Wtf??! Last week she wanted a meeting about a filing cabinet. She didn’t like how the overstock of medical forms were being stored. It was a huge deal and it took hours of my day. How can she possibly expect me to take the time to do stupid, unnecessary things AND accuse me of not doing anything for her at the same time???

Frustrating.

So I’m way behind but rather than work through my lunch like I do every day I’m sitting in the locker room not working. I’m angry and feeling very undervalued. I worked days worth of free overtime last week to help her out and she just wants to demoralize me. Well, me and everyone else. She’s on a rampage this month and is tearing strips off everyone in her path. I keep having staff members in tears in my office, fuming at her unprofessional, demotivating management style.

It’s so hard to put so much in only to be told how little it’s appreciated. Now, all I want is to sleep.

About Grainne

My name is Grainne. This blog has been with me for years now and has served as a journal, a confessional, an outlet and a place for me to create and express my love of life. Thank you for stopping by and for becoming a part of this life long journey of mine. I appreciate every single one of you who takes the time to do so. :)

2 responses to “Work whine”

  1. Birdie says :

    All I can say is I am so glad I no longer work in an office. Women can be the biggest bitches to work for. Men are usually way easier to work with. Would you ever be able to have a meeting with both of them about their issues?

    • Grainne says :

      Haha so true! I do meet with them together, regularly and I’m very transparent and straight forward with them. The crazy one hates being challenged in any way, polite or otherwise. Going to have to do some careful planning to get around this bump.

Leave a Reply

