Wednesday

Okay I’m an hour in and today is being insane already. I left early, planned on getting an early start, got stuck for twenty (!@#$) minutes for a train to slowly creep by, and showed up two minutes late. *sigh* Today and tomorrow I have to do a week’s worth of work and I’m not even stretching it. Yesterday my bosses wasted two hours of my time in a meeting discussing why I can’t get everything done. Yes, seriously. This morning I was attacked in the hallway about the ‘filing system’ in one of the offices. (The crazy one) doesn’t like the drawers and the way the clinical forms are stored. I just stared at her….I wanted to ask if she was kidding but thought better of it…she’s still a little sore about the meeting where I told her that a lot of my time was wasted by her staff. And her. Well, it’s mostly her but she doesn’t like hearing that so I sugar coated it a bit. The one, most hilarious part, was when I told her that a good chunk of my time is spent chasing her staff around and following up with them because they don’t check their email. She vehemently defends them on this one. They are PROFESSIONALS (she angrily spits) and they don’t have time to check email every day.

…. Okay then. I told her if that’s how she would like me to spend my time, I was happy to continue.

“Grainne, you’re not here to be a staff support, you’re a “Jill” and “Monica” support!” (speaking of herself and the other manager I support).

Yes, I get that, however, here are the steps involved in booking a simple meeting for the one side (non-crazy):

1. Email or call the therapist to find a time that works for both them and their leader.
2. Email or call the leader to confirm (if necessary)
3. Schedule it and send an appointment to their work calendar through email

DONE.

For the other:

1. Call the therapist to see if they answer. If they don’t, I’m not to leave a voice mail because they can’t be expected to check their voice mail.
2. Page the therapist to see if I can get them to call me back. This only works some of the time.
3. Offer a date that works with the leader.
4. Send an appointment through to their email calendars
5. Call the front desk and request that they have the time of the appointment booked off so no patients are scheduled.
6. Send a confirmation email, however, if they don’t check their email, call, page or go down and visit in person to confirm.
7. A week prior, call, page, go down to remind them and double check their clinical calendar to ensure no patients are booked.

And they STILL don’t show up.

Eh. Whatever. On we go. I have to focus and see how much I can get done in a single day. Wish me luck. The rest of life will just have to wait.

About Grainne

My name is Grainne. This blog has been with me for years now and has served as a journal, a confessional, an outlet and a place for me to create and express my love of life. Thank you for stopping by and for becoming a part of this life long journey of mine. I appreciate every single one of you who takes the time to do so. :)

Leave a Reply

