Wow!!! Success for Colt!

Holy crap he did it! I thought for sure, the moment I hit post on that last one, the phone would ring and I’d have to negotiate with the principal (whom I’ve not spoken to since before Christmas!!!!! <– and yes, it does require five exclamation marks!). I waiting on pins and needles until 320 passed, the time the buses start arriving and I get any left over phone calls from the day, and … nothing. Blissful, wonderful phone silence. Well, not even close but school-calling-me-phone-silence anyway).

I left on time (!!!!! <—yep, totally accurate again) and drove home in an eerie kind of fog. Were they just not calling because it was SO bad they needed to talk to me in person? Was I going to be met by social workers from the CAS and a police officer? My brain went all sorts of crazy thinking of what might be going on. Sadly, I was afraid to hope that things were quiet because he was behaved.

I pulled into the sitter's driveway and gathered my strength; walked up to the door and knocked before walking in (they give me crap for knocking all the time but I can't help it. Who walks into a house that doesn't belong to family?) and then I was inside.

"Hiya!" I said, trying to sound not worried.

My boy came running up the stairs and flew across the kitchen over to where I was standing.

"HI MOM! Guess what? I had a perfect, stupendous (yes, he actually used that word) amazing day! I didn't swear once, I did my work when my teacher asked me to, I didn't hit anyone or punch anyone and I ate everything in my lunch…there's not a scrap left over!"

*Stunned pause* "Wow Colt! Really?"

"YES! And I have a note for you but it's NOT A BAD ONE!" he cheered, cheeks all flushed with pride.

He pulled a note from his backpack from his teacher and, I shit you not, it said exactly what Colt had relayed to me. She wrote how proud she was of him in the last two weeks and that it has been very evident that he is trying very hard.

Well. I actually had no response ready. I hugged him as he jumped up and down, so excited.

"I'm really proud of myself!" he said.

I cannot think of another time Colt has said those words. I cannot think of a time when Colt actually took a directive from us and applied it so purposefully. He always tries…I'm not saying he doesn't, but up until now the default has always been to do whatever he wants before everyone else gets considered. It's nothing short of amazing.

This entire last year has been a struggle, in fact, it's been one year exactly. He went back to school last Christmas a different kid…sullen, angry, swearing and acting out. Suddenly, we have a new boy who wants to try and work around his frustrations. I have no idea how long this might last or if it will last forever, but today….today it's a victory and I'm relishing it.

*Okay now, Colt. Every dang time I crow about you on this blog I am immediately pulled back to reality by some little outburst of yours. Do mom a huge favour and have a great day? One filled with fun and happiness, okay? Love you no matter what!*

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Grainne

My name is Grainne. This blog has been with me for years now and has served as a journal, a confessional, an outlet and a place for me to create and express my love of life. Thank you for stopping by and for becoming a part of this life long journey of mine. I appreciate every single one of you who takes the time to do so. :)

9 responses to “Wow!!! Success for Colt!”

  1. myplace2spu says :

    That awesome! I can relate to wanting that moment to last, the phone calls, notes home, in person conversations. Wow, I’m just a bit speachless in finding another parent who gets what it like to go through a day, a week a school year with our precious littles. Thanks for sharring and letting me know I’m not alone.

    • Grainne says :

      Oh goodness you are quite welcome. I’m sorry you have to face this stress too.

      • myplace2spu says :

        My little is going on 11 now and was tested for autism at 7years old but they told me they didnt feel he struggled enough to diagnose him. Since then he’s been diagnosed with turrettes syndrome and spd and ocd. Its been a struggle but his primary Dr. Has recognized that he is on the spectrum despite not getting the label and has been helping me learn how to help him on my own but its hard with out all the interventions he could have from school and otherwise.
        There is light for us, just yesterday we seen a new Dr. Who sees it in him and is at least going to give him the label of pdd nos so he can recieve more services at school with less resistance.

      • Grainne says :

        Oh wow! My Colt is 10 and he was just recently diagnosed with tourettes too. We have struggles with getting Colt the support he needs in school even with a diagnosis but it did help by opening up other resources. I hope the new doc turns out as good as they seem so far. It was Colt’s psychiatrist who made all the difference for him.

  2. Ain't No Shrinking Violet says :

    Yea!!!!! (FIVE –> !!!!!) I too am often so astounded by good news I have no proper reply prepared…I need to work on that. Enjoy your moment in the sun and I hope it lasts longer than 5 seconds…how about 5 days, 5 weeks, 5 months, or lets be really optimistic and say FIVE YEARS!!!!! OK, that might be a *tiny* bit unrealistic, but I hope you and your family get to enjoy the good moment for a long time to come, friend.

  3. Birdie says :

    ♥*
    _♥»…..Super ….. ♥»
    __♥»……Great…… ♥»
    ___♥»…..Thanks……♥»
    ____♥»…..Beautiful…..♥»
    _____♥»……Brilliant…….♥»
    ______♥»…..Very nice…..♥»
    _______♥»……Way to Go!…….♥»
    ________♥*♥*♥♥*♥*♥*♥*♥♥*♥*

    You can show him this if you want. 🙂

Leave a Reply

