So yeah

We had a nice Christmas over here. Colt LOVED it all this year and we spaced stuff out a bit to make it less overwhelming. We didn’t spend a huge amount but he loves such inexpensive little things it amounted to a huge pile of presents. He had asked for a 12 set of Shopkins. The total cost was about 9$ so we got him handfuls of the little collector sets of two along with his 12 packs. He was over the moon with joy and has barely set the down.

Dayne made us a beautiful Christmas dinner complete with a delicious smoked turkey (his best yet. It was freakin delicious) and all the fixings; gravy, mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes, cranberries and stuffing. I didn’t need to lift a finger, aside for clean up, which is my chore now since we traded. Just a note on that, trading our main chore around the house has been a great experiment. Something new, bit different…is working well.

Dayne and I exchanged gifts too. He got his tech bag and a handful of fun smaller gifts including a remote control vehicle that runs off his iPad. It
flies and had ground wheels and has an inboard camera. Silly, useless and totally fun. He looked like a six year old who finally got what he wanted for Christmas. Lol. Loved it.

Colt and Dayne replaced my make
up, which I do every year. Most of that stuff only lasts 12-18 months before it expires. I don’t think it really matters much but the germ deal…can’t handle it. Would rather be clean since I don’t usually spend much on my make up. Lucky to have super tolerant skin there. They also gave me a stunning necklace and earring set which is so me I can barely believe it. I will attach a pic before I sign off….Colts eyes just gleamed with joy as he watched me open it. 🙂 I will love it forever.

So, food, tons of wine and beer and snacks, good company and love. It was an excellent Christmas all in.

Today is my fifth day off in a row and I’m starting to feel the darkness already. I don’t do well at home even though it’s the only place I ever want to be. I sleep way too much, is the issue. I’ve barely been awake for longer than 5 hours at a time and my dreams are clouding up my brain. I’m cleaning like crazy today, trying to keep ahead of it. Dayne is off on The 31st to when we both go back on the 5th. That will help a lot.

So for now Colt and I are enjoying our stay in day. :). He keeps thanking me for spending the day in our Jammies lol. I love him so. He’s had a great break from school and had been so well behaved. It’s good to know it’s the place and not him as a person who is making thing hard there. I will be ready to go again by the time we all go back. I think. Ehh. I always do it, ready or not anyway.

There’s another underlying issue here that’s triggering a lot of madness in my head. I’ll try another post though. It doesn’t belong in this one.

Here is my happy guy, Christmas morn

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/016/14635592/files/2014/12/img_8629.jpg

And my lovely gift to remember it all by.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/016/14635592/files/2014/12/img_8698.jpg

About Grainne

My name is Grainne. This blog has been with me for years now and has served as a journal, a confessional, an outlet and a place for me to create and express my love of life. Thank you for stopping by and for becoming a part of this life long journey of mine. I appreciate every single one of you who takes the time to do so. :)

3 responses to “So yeah”

  1. KittyHere says :

    So happy to read about your fabulous Christmas. Colt has grown so much from the little boy he was when I first saw his picture. Wish I was close enough to join you for some of the leftover food now that I have my appetite back.

    • Grainne says :

      Ohgosh Kitty there is SO much food in my fridge right now! Lol you would be more than welcome. 🙂

      Colt had a great time and that just made everything perfect! :). We all needed this break so much. Xo

  2. Birdie says :

    I am so glad everything went well. Christmas at the best of times is stressful and chaotic. We all need to follow your lead and tone things down a bit.

Leave a Reply

