A brilliant sun rise on a special day

It’s Colt’s 10th Birthday today. TEN. Ten YEARS…holy smokes does time ever fly. Last night while I wrapped his presents D blew up balloons and hung streamers. We did this for him last year and he told me he was looking forward to it again…so of course we complied! He’s never liked a fuss made over him but this year he really seems to be enjoying it 🙂 D and I woke him together, softly singing Happy Birthday and he opened his eyes with a grin.

“I can’t believe it! I’m double digits!!” he cried.

God I love that boy more than life.

He and I had a nice cuddle on the couch while we watched the sun come up and he listened patiently while I told him the story of our first morning together, which I’ve told many, many times. Colt and I started our first day together sitting in a very quiet room in the hospital next to the window. We watched the sun rise together, he and I, and it was peaceful and exciting both. He hadn’t quite started his 2-year scream fest so I had a moment to stare at the lovely little being I had created magically inside me. I loved him, even then.

We’re having pizza and ice cream cake for dinner and I have to figure out how to craft a ‘party hat’ out of napkins. He saw something online that made him want party hats…lol. I was going to hit the dollar store on the way home but I want to be as early as I can be so he gets his presents ASAP. He’s so excited. I loooooooove buying him gifts he adores….Birthdays aren’t quite as grand as Christmas but they are my second favourite by far.

I’m so proud of Colt. I’m proud of his strength and courage, his adaptability and willingness to change, grow, expand. I’m proud of his effort to be and do good in the world.

This morning when he came down the stairs and saw all the balloons and party decorations he gave us a lovely gift. It’s very cool when you get to see some of your own efforts to be a good parent reflected in your child.

“Mom, Dad, please come here and listen to me.” he said, very serious like. “I want you to know how much this means to me and that you did a very good job decorating the house. You should both be very proud of yourselves for doing such a nice thing for me. Give yourselves a hand!” and then we clapped.

What a wonderful morning that was. Makes me remember how very lucky I am to have this boy in my world. I can’t imagine life without him….wouldn’t want to! He has brought so much love and light into our lives…I am humbled and filled with happiness that this child is a part of my heart.

Happy Birthday sweetest of all the sweet peas. I love you from your toes to the top of your head. Thanks for watching the sun rises with me and for all the memories in between. xox

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About Grainne

My name is Grainne. This blog has been with me for years now and has served as a journal, a confessional, an outlet and a place for me to create and express my love of life. Thank you for stopping by and for becoming a part of this life long journey of mine. I appreciate every single one of you who takes the time to do so. :)

6 responses to “A brilliant sun rise on a special day”

  1. KittyHere says :

    Happy Birthday to Colt. Hang on to this beautiful experience to help get you through any storms that may strike down the road.

  2. idenagroban says :

    Happy 10th birthday to Colt!

  3. Charlotte says :

    Happy Birthday Colt! The first double digits is awesome! And your post made me well up it’s all so lovely! 🙂

    • Grainne says :

      Aww thanks! He had such a great night 🙂 He told us it was the BEST BIRTHDAY EVER! about a million times. Healed me right down to my soul.

Leave a Reply

