Day one

Wow. Okay so I knew this was a bigger department I was moving into but I had no idea how big. I was given a tour of the offices this morning where I was lead through a maze of doors and hallways into locked rooms on all sides. Everything has a key and a pass code and I’ve already forgotten all the codes…and the names. Oh, and designations. Every service apparently has staff from our unit and so each departments staff has an office. Some are filled with cubical desks, some more doors and more rooms.

We have in patient and out patient staff in two cross departments and it looks like I support the whole shebang. Wow.

Staffing was busy as hell and took huge amounts of time to accomplish anything because of constant interruptions. Here, not so many interruptions but soooooo much work! I do a little of this, a little of that. I order supplies for some people and not others, same with payroll and general support things. I’m not even sure I have the two sides straight anymore. I did this morning. Lol.

The woman training me has been in the role for 7 years or so and knows everyone so she’s quick to get things done. She actually told me she has RA in our first hours and this is why she is retiring. She’s worked here since high school so can retire in her 50’s. I so wish I had been able to do that. As it is I’ll be here until I’m 60 bare minimum. Well, of my body hangs on that long.

Anyway. I don’t expect to know much on my first day. Folks seem nice so far and I’m gettin good vibes. There is very little turnover here and they keep telling me the politics are very low. I’ll believe that one in time bit it looks good so far.

Once I settle in things will be fine. And busy. Haha.

I was in such pain this weekend I barely moved. All medicated up now. Hoping my brain keeps functioning until 4. I’m used to shutting down about that time.

More later. Talk soon 🙂

About Grainne

My name is Grainne. This blog has been with me for years now and has served as a journal, a confessional, an outlet and a place for me to create and express my love of life. Thank you for stopping by and for becoming a part of this life long journey of mine. I appreciate every single one of you who takes the time to do so. :)

One response to “Day one”

  1. KittyHere says :

    Good thing they are giving you a training period. Going to be a busy first week I bet.

Leave a Reply

