Misophonia

…and on a different topic…

I have trouble listening to people chew their food. I’ve mentioned this before here…it has a name and is tucked neatly into my OCD diagnosis. Misophonia. It is a severe reaction to the sound of people eating, slurping and making other noises as they eat. If someone is eating with their mouth open around me I have to leave the room immediately before I end up snapping at them to shut their fucking mouth, stranger or family…doesn’t matter.

When I was little it was my mother eating toast that used to throw me over the edge. I couldn’t stand the sound of it and I routinely refused breakfast just to be away from it. As I got older it faded a bit…I wasn’t around much food for the last years of my adolescence. The trouble returned with D who has a great love for Doritos which are the crunchiest snacks I’ve ever encountered. He can eat about 5 in the same room as me and even if the tv is on and I’m otherwise occupied I cannot stand it for any longer than that. He usually eats them in a different room from me to spare himself the rage. lol…I know it’s unfair but I just cannot stand it.

Recently, Colt has been setting me off with his after school snack. If it’s crunchy I need to put headphones in or stick my head under the couch cushions. Yesterday I asked him to eat his snack upstairs but I can’t keep doing that…poor kid will develop a complex. I don’t know how to manage this one.

At work, my office mate is wonderful but she eats salad every lunchtime right at her desk.

*munch munch munch munch munch* Pause *munch munch munch munch*

It drive me bonkers. I get all tense and have to bite my tongue to keep from spinning around in my chair and snapping at her to stop chewing! Of course, I don’t and I try to do things that are noisy or just run to the bathroom and the unit while she’s eating. Thank god she eats fast. I’d not be able to take much more than I do.

Suddenly very pleased that I’ll have my own office to protect me from the chewing of others in my new job. lol The trouble is that I never use break rooms for this very reason and it tends to make me look antisocial. I’ll have to find a way to cope. Strangely, when I go to lunch with one of the girls here I’ve known forever, we often head to a Mexican place downtown for Jalapeño Cheddar soup (to die for!). They serve home made tortillas and salsa and they are deep fried so super crunchy. That doesn’t bug me. How it all works is beyond me but maybe it’s because I’m eating them too? I try that at home but fail.

What an annoying thing to have to deal with. I know it’s not the end of the world, by far, but it’s one of those things that can just ruin your day.

Ah well. That’s all my complains for today (so far). *giggles* Have a good one guys!

About Grainne

My name is Grainne. This blog has been with me for years now and has served as a journal, a confessional, an outlet and a place for me to create and express my love of life. Thank you for stopping by and for becoming a part of this life long journey of mine. I appreciate every single one of you who takes the time to do so. :)

One response to “Misophonia”

  1. KittyHere says :

    My husband can not stand me having crunchy snacks in the car while he is driving. Had no idea there was a clinical name for it.

Leave a Reply

