And not two mintues after I posted…

…another call comes in from the school.  Not sure I wanted to hear much more I reluctantly picked up the phone.  It was the principal who wanted me to see the work Colt had done this afternoon with her.  He turned his day around, she said, and was doing a great job, working hard.  She really cares about him, this woman.  He’s lucky to have her on his side. 

He talked to me again, sounding happier.  He lives moment to moment.  Now I have to take him home to get in trouble for swearing after he already turned his day around.  I sent a text to D to try to simmer him down some.  He is way better at pulling it together after a few moments to vent some steam off.  I hope we’re on the same page tonight. 

Parenting is really, really freaking hard.  I’m kind of thankful that we only had one, as much as I love the kid. 

Focusing on tattoo.  That will pull me through.  It’s for my mom, this one.  I think I’ve mentioned that my aunt, my birth mom’s sister said she had a gold cross on a chain somewhere in her attic that she wanted me to have. That was five years back and I’ve asked a few times but she’s not been able to get up there.  I figured I’d just get my own cross, for her, to carry with me always.

About Grainne

My name is Grainne. This blog has been with me for years now and has served as a journal, a confessional, an outlet and a place for me to create and express my love of life. Thank you for stopping by and for becoming a part of this life long journey of mine. I appreciate every single one of you who takes the time to do so. :)

3 responses to “And not two mintues after I posted…”

  1. KittyHere says :

    You are lucky to have such a caring principal. It is also good for you to know now that a call from the school is not always going to mean bad news.

    Hope D can model calm for Colt. 🙂

    • Grainne says :

      Agreed, I really appreciate her. Only trouble is that she won’t be there forever. I worry about that extra support once she’s gone. It’s like he has a full time EA with her in the mix.

      D was angry with Colt at first but I pulled him aside and told him to stop. He was scaring the boy….not the way to go. They ended up talking for a few hours in Colt’s room and things were settled nicely. We all decided that Colt will lose his Ipad and Ipod for the weekend and will have a long list of chores to attend to for the swearing. I’m looking into the incident though, as I’m sure Colt didn’t start the argument. The kids tend to push him until he has nothing to do but swear to get away. :S

      Ah well. Life eh? xx

      • KittyHere says :

        I did not get away with my peers during elementary school. When I met kids from other towns in 7th grade things improved somewhat. It stinks to not fit in but it isn’t the end of the world either.

        Your weekend plan sounds prefect.

Leave a Reply

