Decisions :S

Morning Guys. 
 
Thanks for all the advice you left on my last post about the job decision.  I happen to agree with you all but there are still two points that kept me up most of the night.  I’m not sure I made one of them clear yesterday.
 
The job I have now, that I love and that is bringing me back to myself…I swear, I can’t ever remember feeling so great about things, is not permanent.  It’s a temp full-time until September.  Once we hit September, it will post to full-time, however, union rules state that the person who has the skill set required plus the highest seniority must get the job.  If my boss squeaks me through somehow, worst case scenario is that another applicant will grieve the decision and will end up taking my job anyway.  The new job, the one I don’t really want, is not in the union and will be permanent. 
 
The other issue.  Five bucks an hour pays daycare for the summer.  I’m not entirely sure we can afford it otherwise.  D and I talked for a while last night.  I think it comes down to this:  the most important thing is Colt, right?  His security and future trump mine ten times over in importance in my heart.  The new job is secure.  The happy job is not.  The new job is more money.  The happy job leaves us living at the poverty line (D doesn’t make much himself.  I’ve always been the breadwinner). 
 
Anyway.  I agreed to meet with the hiring managers at the new job.  It turns out I know them both and have known one for almost a decade.  I really like her.  It might not be the worst idea in the world….
 
(It feels like it though.  😦  I really don’t want to have to make this decision). 
 
So yeah.  It’s raining today and my body is responding in kind.  My back…killing me.  Hand, getting worse.  The joint locks up over night now and takes an hour or so to get moving again.  Luckily, as I said, it’s my left thumb.  It’s not something that you use very much aside from picking things up.  *sigh* 
 
Alright.  I’m happier than I sound, just heavy with thought.  Hope you all have a good day.  xx
About Grainne

My name is Grainne. This blog has been with me for years now and has served as a journal, a confessional, an outlet and a place for me to create and express my love of life. Thank you for stopping by and for becoming a part of this life long journey of mine. I appreciate every single one of you who takes the time to do so. :)

4 responses to “Decisions :S”

  1. KittyHere says :

    Best to you.
    I have some mild hand issues including a LH thumb tender as all get out. A thumb is really useful I have decided. The worse is releasing a seatbelt — on the passenger side that is. I keep thinking of a lobster without the small portion of its claw. Not fun.

    • Grainne says :

      *hugs* Maybe if we get to visit some time we’ll be one complete functioning person for a while between the two of us. lol. Love you Kitty. xoxo

  2. paindepression says :

    I know we have to weigh all the things when making a decision. I do believe that everything happens for a reason. So only you can make the decision. Inside you will know what to do when the time comes. Follow your gut feeling all the way!

Leave a Reply

