Wednesday Update :)

Hey Guys! 

So my job is still going well, even after payroll and the annual vacation pick went through…I didn’t make many mistakes and people are being quite forgiving which is very cool.  I’m still in the good over here.  🙂 

I now have a dilemma to face though.  Maybe you guys can help me work it out.  My HR support called me yesterday to tell me about a job they were ‘holding’ for me.  (I.e. it’s a draft posting at this point so I got a head’s up due to being on layoff notice).  She said it was perfect for my skill set and it is…it’s an admin job, a level lower than my last, but it’s 5$ more an hour which will bring me back to where I was, more or less.  The money is a BIG deal for me…plus, it’s permanent, full-time.  So here’s the pro/con list:

Current job:  I really enjoy doing this work.  The people are great, the work is interesting and engaging.  I get to help out on a clinical floor and I love this environment.  The hours are amazing and are working very well with everyone’s schedule.  I have tons of support here and everyone is friendly and helpful.  I feel successful, needed, wanted and liked.  I get tons of good feedback all the time and I love helping my staff members in any way I can. 

Cons, Current Job:  It’s not permanent and it’s union.  When it posts as permanent, which it will in the next few months, I will apply for it, of course, but if anyone with more seniority than my piddly few months happens to apply and they already have payroll, staffing and scheduling training, there is nothing my boss can do….they have to hire the more senior staff member.  If they don’t, the senior staff can grieve it and I will, eventually, be let go and they will take my place.  It’s always best not to piss off the union.  My bosses hands will be tied, no matter how much she likes me.  If I do not get the job I’m out of the hospital and unemployed. 

Prospective job:  Pros:  It’s permanent full-time.  I will be paid more money which will improve my quality of life (return it to what I was used to). 

Cons:  It’s an admin role, which I hated doing in the first place.  It’s not in a clinical unit.  It is working for a department I’m not sure will be so secure in the coming years and the people who work there that I would be supporting are a pain in the neck.  I’ve dealt with them in my last role and they are the sort to never return phone calls or email.  The VP of the department is my old Chair’s, who hated me, biggest fan.  She flirts and fawns over him and his cute little pink hanky’s and stripped socks.  (He’s gay, she thinks that’s just about the greatest thing EVER).  *sigh*  I don’t really want this job. 

HR told me that if they make these arrangement and I turn the job down, my preference will be eliminated and I’ll be on my own.  I won’t get severance (which isn’t much anyway) and the assistance will stop.  That’s a big deal right there so I don’t know what to do.

I talked to D about it before I fell asleep last night and he was surprisingly angry with me for even considering it.  He says that the money no longer matters to him.  He can see a part of me glowing that has been dim for the last ten years and he loves seeing it….he says I’m truly happy for the first time in a long, long while.  Five dollars an hour is just not worth it, in his eyes.  We stopped discussing it. 

I think I’ll go for the meeting…it’s not even an interview since the staff there know me so well.  The HR chick said “Did you ever work with Grainne?” and they said “We’ll take her!” before any further discussion was had.  They’re getting an exec admin for the price of a secretary so it’s a good deal for them too.  God that money though.  Crap.  I don’t know what to do.  Any thoughts guys? 

My hand is getting much worse and now when I wake up in the night because of my back (lower is killing me now too.  I’m still not taking my full pain-killer doses so I don’t go stupid and start messing up here), my hands (both) are clenched in fists, the left swollen and the lower joint inflamed and the upper joint is now freezing.  If I move it, it will snap forward and backward in a painful jolt but I keep doing it until the movement is a bit more fluid.  I made an appointment to see my doctor….not for another two weeks though.  I’m thinking I finally have some typical arthritis to present.  😦  Maybe this will lead to me getting some better help?  At least I don’t have to trial every NSAID on the market again…been there, done that.  I’m just glad it’s my left hand, not my right.  When the right starts to go…typing is gonna suck. 

So more fun to deal with.  My lower back is all messed up too these days…I suspect it’s more degeneration…feels the same as the top half.  I have several bulging discs down there…maybe one finally herniated like the ones in my upper.  This is so exhausting and neverending.  Still…at least work is pretty awesome.  Unless I go back to the admin world.  Gah.  What do I dooooo?

Have a good Wed All.

About Grainne

My name is Grainne. This blog has been with me for years now and has served as a journal, a confessional, an outlet and a place for me to create and express my love of life. Thank you for stopping by and for becoming a part of this life long journey of mine. I appreciate every single one of you who takes the time to do so. :)

12 responses to “Wednesday Update :)”

  1. KittyHere says :

    If D is not pushing you for the extra income over happiness I think I would listen to him. Neither position is safe in the log run. What bugs me about the administrative position (beyond going back to folks who you know are nasty) is the way HR is saying if you take the meeting you must take the job or bye bye–‘Something rotten in Denmark?’ I would be inclined to say that under those conditions you are passing.

  2. paindepression says :

    You need to stay where you are because you are happy there. No amount of money if worth the torture you have to deal with in the other job. Being happy makes it easier to deal with the pain too. Good luck!

  3. twisterfish says :

    STAY WHERE YOU ARE! Happiness is worth more than a higher hourly rate. 🙂

  4. Mental Mama says :

    The best advice I was ever given in regards to working was this, “do what you love and the money will follow.” I took that advice and never looked back, and there hasn’t been a single day that I regretted it.

  5. Hope says :

    I kinda have to agree with D on this one. It strikes me how much different you sound since the job switch–how much better. The pain is still the same, but you sound happier and more fulfilled than I’ve ever heard you.

  6. rootstoblossom says :

    Money can be found in other ways. Happiness not so much. Don’t jump back into a pool of sharks. Other opportunities will come about and you can’t see them while you run from sharks.

Leave a Reply

