A little bit of happy

Hey All. 

So my new job is crazy busy and I never, ever seem to stop moving.  I’m always behind on some task or another and the work never seems to end…this is just how I like things.  I have zero time to lament over my pain or the misery in my head and by the time I get home I’m so exhausted from working all day I can’t be bothered to spend time suffering.  I know it sounds strange, but it’s so true. 

This place is wonderful.  I have heard nothing but positive feedback all week…my manager is thrilled to have me here and the nurses all seem to like me which is unheard of, I’ve been told.  I just went to pick up my scheduling binder from the unit and I got dozens of smiles and hellos…then two of the most senior RN’s told me that my energy and friendly nature is exactly what this unit needed.  😀 

I’ve been told I’m awesome by the manager, coordinator, educator, charge nurse, floor nurses, unit clerks, old staffing clerk…I mean, it’s just been wonderful to hear so much positive feedback.  I haven’t heard a ‘good job’ for freaking years in this place. 

I also am loving the patients.  I’m making friends with many of them and yesterday actually got to assist in an emergency, since it was right across the hall from my office.  I was first responder so the rule is that everyone follows the first responders lead….it was so great to be able to use my first aid skills again.  They saved her and the patient is resting comfortably now.  I can hear her lightly snoring from here.  🙂

My empathy store is full to overflowing and I get to spend it freely.  I’m helping people, helping the nurse, making everyone feel happy and like they matter.  It may not be the best trait I possess (the need to help people and make them happy so I know for sure they like me and I’m doing the right things) but, I’m going to use it to its fullest advantage right now.  It’s working to make everyone around her happier and I feel great so…can’t be a bad thing entirely. 

I am going to tie myself to my desk when I get home, prop my eyes open with toothpicks and will catch up with everyone here.  I miss you guys so much.  xx

Hope you all have a wonderful day!

 

About Grainne

My name is Grainne. This blog has been with me for years now and has served as a journal, a confessional, an outlet and a place for me to create and express my love of life. Thank you for stopping by and for becoming a part of this life long journey of mine. I appreciate every single one of you who takes the time to do so. :)

10 responses to “A little bit of happy”

  1. Sian says :

    Glad it’s going so well!x

  2. KittyHere says :

    A joy to read that you are in a positive place. I can now say that I was amazed at your old job how much time you had for blogging. Much better to have a position that keeps you fully engaged and hopping.

    • Grainne says :

      Thanks Kitty! Much love to you! xoxoxo (So glad I don’t have time to sit here all day and worry over my life. Makes a HUGE difference).

  3. Mental Mama says :

    I am just thrilled to hear that it’s going so well! The right fit makes all the difference in the world. 🙂 *HUGS*

    • Grainne says :

      *hugs back!!!* Thanks! D tells me he hasn’t seen me so happy in over ten years. What a relief it is. xox Miss you so much. <3<3<3

  4. paindepression says :

    I am so happy to read how well you are doing! You deserve it! Keeping busy is a key to getting through all we have to endure. Positive feed back is so very important for every single person. We all need it and we all do better when we receive it! Love ya!

    • Grainne says :

      Thanks *hugs!* I’m feeling better than I have in so long. Catching up slowly with your blog…I miss you and miss knowing how you are! xoxoxo

  5. Hope says :

    I’m so happy for you. It’s so good to hear you doing so well. Such a change from the last job! You deserve it..

Leave a Reply

