A quick note about an old friend

M came wandering back into my life a few weeks ago…a month, I think, by now.  He wrote me, I told him to eff off, he wrote again and after (not very much) prodding on his part, I decided to give it a go.  He said he needed a friend and I always enjoyed his friendship.  Well, until things turned all weird and immoral … and confusing.  We exchanged several email and then I spent a night on my own remembering all the reasons I didn’t want him in my life anymore.  I ended up angry, sad, confused and hurt.  I wrote him to tell him so, not in cruel words and most certainly not to make him feel bad…i just didn’t want to pretend those things were not inside me.  He is a vindictive, vicious soul and admits it if questioned; I think he believes he is owed because he’s suffered, somehow.  He wrote that even if we had ever gotten together, he would have been overwhelmed by past grudges that he would use to leave me over anyway….How in the world he thinks he’s going to get anyone to stay in his life with words like that is beyond me.   I guess that’s what his friendship was always like though.  He was always dismissive and cold when it came to anything aside from his own needs and wants.  I tried to explain at one point but he wrote back that he was “Strangely uninterested in what I need…”  I actually laughed at that, out loud, and thought “ooh isn’t that just classic M?” which, in turn,  made me think:  Why in the world would I want someone like that in my life???  Answer:  I don’t.

Now wasn’t that easy?  (not in the least, but I’m glad it’s over, just the same).

About Grainne

My name is Grainne. This blog has been with me for years now and has served as a journal, a confessional, an outlet and a place for me to create and express my love of life. Thank you for stopping by and for becoming a part of this life long journey of mine. I appreciate every single one of you who takes the time to do so. :)

6 responses to “A quick note about an old friend”

  1. KittyHere says :

    Lots of things are not easy, but often they do become less difficult with time & practice.

  2. marieolivia says :

    You stayed faithful to yourself and your own needs, and convictions! Good job! 🙂 It’s not easy to remember or follow through on stuff like that, but you remembered in the end and you took care of your own feelings by allowing yourself to choose who you spend your time with and on 🙂

    • Grainne says :

      Thanks! I feel kind of out of place when I do this, like I’m being cruel to others by taking care of myself. *hugs* Thanks for making me see this side of things!

  3. cliques1 says :

    I’m proud of you Grainne…..

  4. Pete says :

    Proud of you too Twin 🙂
    D is a much better man and this M bloke seems like a lunatic.
    Love Pete xo

Leave a Reply

