Sleepy Me

Oh goodness I am a sleepy office body today.  I went to bed nice and early last night…just before 6pm, and fell into an active, non-restful sleep.  I woke at…2 (?) and was then stuck awake until 4 am.  Although my combined hours are technically enough sleep to keep me going, having broken sleep like that makes me twice as tired as I would be had I not slept at all.

I first noticed it when I was driving Colt to the sitter’s to catch his school bus with her gang.  I wasn’t feeling unfocused but I kept drifting too close to the side of the road and was surprised when I kicked up a huge road sand/salt storm each time.  As I got closer to work it got worse until now, where it’s 9:12 am and I’m already fighting to keep my brain connected and conscious.  I’m already having trouble seeing clearly but the docs who have checked on that part of me have said that it’s just pressure from my locked muscles on my optic nerves.  No one has ever offered a solution to that, but many were quick to call it.

I’m not sure what I’m going to do.  I stopped for a green tea and a breakfast sandwich to make sure my body had some energy to burn though, I have my window open to the cool, pretty morning, music playing softly in the background.  Should be in pretty rough shape by noon.  *sigh*  (lol…gotta laugh where you can I suppose!)

I might run across the road and pay a ridiculous price for one of those Monster energy drinks but they do not get along with my stomach at all.  Risk/benefit again.  Everything seems to boil down to that, these days.

OMG I just nearly dumped my tea directly into my keyboard.  (Meh.  What do I care?  They’re not going to use it anyway once I’m gone.  I like to get those ergonomic keyboards once in a while because no one will ever steal it…lol

Holy smokes I’m tired.  I feel like I took an elephant sedation dart to the neck and I’m not flailing my limbs about in an effort to stay alert and able to flee or fight should danger happen by.  I soooo can’t wait for Monday where this will likely not happen anymore.  Having people coming by every few minutes and sharing an office with someone will keep me on my toes and not passing out, I hope.  haha…

Ahh damnit.  The girls here in my department just found out tomorrow is my last day.  They want to take me out for lunch, which is so lovely, but I had hoped to give that one a miss.  Ah well…these little social functions are a necessary part of life around here.  They used to have a potluck every time it was someone’s birthday here, which was not bad, but when I worked for a clinic, years ago, they were awful!  People would all stand there sipping their weak coffee and eating the slice of banana bread someone baked and brought in silence.  No one liked each other and no one would talk…it would get deadly quiet and all you could hear was chewing until someone thought of something to say.

“Ohh!  Hey, you have a kid!  How’s your kid/wife/husband/mother in law/etc?”

“Did anyone see how nice it is out today.  I hear rain for the weekend though…”   *yawns*

I never understood why people force themselves to be social with people they don’t like.  It’s much easier to establish and maintain a collegial, professional relationship and leave it at that.  All the extra BS is just a frustrating waste of everyone’s time.

Well, back to work for me!  Only two days left of this crap and then I get a fresh start.  I can hardly stand to wait two more days… 😉

Have a good one guys.  xx

Tags: , ,

About Grainne

My name is Grainne. This blog has been with me for years now and has served as a journal, a confessional, an outlet and a place for me to create and express my love of life. Thank you for stopping by and for becoming a part of this life long journey of mine. I appreciate every single one of you who takes the time to do so. :)

4 responses to “Sleepy Me”

  1. KittyHere says :

    Ah, just plaster on a smile and accept that they need to take you to lunch so they feel good. Get something yummy to eat and keep repeating I am leaving, I am leaving, I will not miss you, ha, ha, ha..

  2. Mental Mama says :

    Being tired like that sucks. I hope you perk up soon, like say around quitting time. 😉

    I insist on ergo keyboards, at work and at home. I just can’t stand typing on the straight ones anymore.

  3. Pete says :

    Yeah darling twin I HATE all the forced bullshit that goes along with one leaving! You know who your mates really are and you certainly know who the bull shitters are, that’s for sure!

    Anyway have fun kiddo, watch that driving though, you know it gives me shivers!

    Things here HAVE got better with a big contract to edit a large novel so lots of money coming in about the next 3 weeks! So strange how our bad luck/good luck follows each others!

    I’m not feeling too bad either apart from morning sluggishness which hey is par for the course regardless. Have fun Grainne my sweets xxx. Enjoy the BS and lap it up thinking “Oh yes how nice” Translated:”Yes I can’t wait to be shot of you fuckwit 😉

    Know that you are made of better stuff and that they couldn’t suffer what we do and still even get out of bed! I love you sweet twin, take care of D and C and have a beautiful weekend precious girl.

    Love you so,

    Pete xo

    • Grainne says :

      Ha! Amazing!! I’m so glad that work came through for you! it’s really strange how things align so well in our lives but I’m starting to get used to it. The other day I realized that my cold had nearly gone and I thought to myself “Oh hooray! I’ll bet Pete feels better too!” lol. If we could just keep this good luck going, we might just end up okay after all.

      Much love!! xo

      Oh and, the VP who I report to (my asshole director’s boss) sent around an email asking if we were having a ‘farewell’ lunch for me. He asked the director’s secretary to set it up. Lmao! I love it.

Leave a Reply

