Oh. Ooooohhhh. Wow.

(Did I lure you in with my clever title foreshadowing greatness below?  lol…)

I just went to the mall for lunch.  I rarely leave my office and almost never go out for lunch (I generally just snack on apples and stuff at work in place of a full meal anyway).  I wanted to get some more oil for my hair…I found this awesome stuff at Sephora called Ojon…it’s  not new..amazing hair product.  I wanted to get a new bottle before I start my new job as I’ll be dying my hair on the weekend and it always gets frizzy right afterward.

I found a parking spot right by the door and before I’d even gone inside, someone engaged me.  A nice woman with her baby were walking in the row next to me and she caught my eye.  I smiled at her little one who was squinting up at the sun and I mentioned how lovely it was out today.  She started chatting away about all the things they were doing that day, outside in the sunshine.  We parted ways with a “have a good one!” and a genuine smile.

I stopped at a smoke shop for some gum and while in line, a little old lady while fishing in her purse for her change, came up with a wrapped candy.  She looked at me, smiled, and asked if I’d like a sweet, as if I was five years old.  I giggled and thanked her.  It was a nice moment and she waved at me with a big smile after I paid and left.

I walked into Sephora, my favourite place in the universe right now, and was greeted by the always excellent, friendly staff.  Four of them came to chat with me, not being pushy or selling me crap, just to chat and I enjoyed talking to each of them.  When I got to the Ojon section there was a woman browsing with her adult daughter and they both made room for me when I walked up.  Within moments we were all chatting away about the product and they started giving me their experiences and advice.  When they went to pay for their purchases I grinned over at them and told the clerk they deserved a commission for their help to me.  She gave them 10% off.  Isn’t that amazing???  What a great place that is.  The two were very happy with their discount and yelled ‘bye’ to me as they left.  It was so much fun…

Then I decided to treat myself to lunch in the food court.  I have a weakness for donairs and gyros and there’s a place I used to eat at all the time when I worked there, years ago.  I got a gyro and a Pepsi (small, good for me), and while waiting for it to be made two people came up behind me and asked me what the food was like at that place.  I gave them a good recommendation and then the girl making my food threw in a small salad for me!  I’m taking it home for Colt because he LOVES greek salad.  I didn’t have to pay a dime for it.  Then, the gal ahead of me in line noticed my manicure and complimented me on it.  lol…it was the strangest trip to the mall of friendly people ever.

I realized then, that a lot of people were getting back in touch with me suddenly.  It must be something I put out because none of them read this blog or know what’s going on in my life, but there they all are.

I puzzled over it for a while and when D called to say hi I ran it by him.

“Well duh.  You’re happy again Grainne.  Everyone wants to be around you when you’re smiling…don’t you remember?”

I cried a few tears then, from memories and a bit of joy.  Being happy certainly does serve me well.  It always did.  The times I was without anyone who loved me, I was miserable.  I’m not an easy person to hang with when I’m low.  Every other time…like me wanting to be around that girl in my dreams, when I’m happy, I’m magnetic to other happy people.  I freaking love that about life and I had forgotten how great it was to be around folks who will smile at you when you smile at them.

This is a good thing guys, this revelation, as obvious as it may have been to everyone but me.  lol.  Very, very cool.  Happy days onward!  I love the way this feels, pain and all.

Tags: , , , , ,

About Grainne

My name is Grainne. This blog has been with me for years now and has served as a journal, a confessional, an outlet and a place for me to create and express my love of life. Thank you for stopping by and for becoming a part of this life long journey of mine. I appreciate every single one of you who takes the time to do so. :)

5 responses to “Oh. Ooooohhhh. Wow.”

  1. KittyHere says :

    Lovely post. Spring like weather is helping everybody’s mood too I think.

    • Grainne says :

      Certainly isn’t hurting! I hope it’s this nice out by you guys! Do your kitties like open windows? My Jack was so excited to be able to grumble at the birds through the screen when I got home last night. When it got dark I closed it but he refused to move from the spot…just cried at me every time he caught my eye. I have no idea how he doesn’t end up crashing right through my screens…he’s such a big guy now!

  2. Mental Mama says :

    WHOO HOO!!! 😀

  3. paindepression says :

    I LOVE Gyros too! Real Greek made Gyros! I am so very happy that you had a great and happy day!

  4. Pete says :

    It’s wonderful to feel part of an idyllic town with friendly people all saying Hello and lifting your mood. I guess what you feel IS to a certain extent what you radiate out to the world and I know you have a beautiful, powerful, gorgeous energy, What a nice day darling twin, thanks for sharing it 🙂

    *Wish I could have shared it with you*

    Love Pete xo

Leave a Reply

