Post Interview

Thankfully I wasn’t too nervous.  The Director did try to put me on the spot but I carried on with my train of thought without hesitating.  He was kind of a prick about it but, nothing new.  As I walked out I heard him say “So what did you think” in a rather dismissive way.  I didn’t stay to hear their replies.

I don’t expect to get this one.  I believe he wanted me out of his department when he chose to eliminate my position mid cycle, like he did.  I Just couldn’t pass up the chance.  It would have been stupid to.  So…I’m proud of myself.  I did it, I didn’t come off like an idiot, I answered the questions clearly and thoughtfully.  Can’t hurt right?

So.  Now we wait.  I’m still going to interview for that clerk (entry-level) position tomorrow.  It’s so much less than I make now but it might end up being my only option.

Back to work for me then.  xx  Sigh.  Glad it’s over with.

About Grainne

My name is Grainne. This blog has been with me for years now and has served as a journal, a confessional, an outlet and a place for me to create and express my love of life. Thank you for stopping by and for becoming a part of this life long journey of mine. I appreciate every single one of you who takes the time to do so. :)

10 responses to “Post Interview”

  1. KittyHere says :

    Yes, yes, yes. Glad you did well and walked away head high. Is having any job healthier for you than no job? You and D may be faced with that question, along with is a meager paycheck better than no paycheck.

    • Grainne says :

      ha! You have a very good point there. Now is not the time to get greedy. xoxox. I’m really glad interviewed for this too. It gave me some sort of closure over the past, even if I don’t get the job. (not holding much hope but that’s okay, I’m just pleased that I went through with it).

  2. ambivalencegirl says :

    seems as if many of us are getting gutsy (for lack of a better word LoL) or at least taking the risk and trying hmmm….maybe it is time for change. Good luck, and you are right…..it can’t hurt!
    And thanks for the like….but I am still wondering why the heck I did that!

    • Grainne says :

      Sometimes it’s easier not to poke the bear, you know? 🙂 I think we often reach out when we are ready to heal. As for your post, I think it’s a great idea to go to the orientation and learn as much as you can. It doesn’t mean you’re committed which is exactly the path I took when I went for this last interview.

      Good luck to you too! I’ll be following along as well. 🙂

  3. rootstoblossom says :

    Good for you with all of these interviews, I am so sure the right door will open for you if you keep trying. ❤

  4. Mental Mama says :

    Excellent attitude – nothing ventured, nothing gained. 🙂

    • Grainne says :

      I’m really proud of myself for doing that too, thanks Mama xoxo It made me feel so much better, being able to sit there, unflustered, and look him dead in the eye while I answered his questions about my work habits. lol

  5. Pete says :

    Good on you twin, like me you have had to learn to have guts and plenty of them! It always amazes me how intelligent and insightful you are. You probably have a high IQ sweets 🙂

    I once had a neurologist in New Zealand say to his Mini-me…”Well there’s nothing more WE can do with THAT one!” So I turned around from outside the pricks office and said “Excuse me?” They looked up and I said to him

    “Try treating your patients as people you cuxt, and by the way I bet you’re divorced because you are basically a shitty human being, I bet you see the kids on Sunday because your ex wise thinks you’re a prick too do you?” He obviously did because he got all red in the face, but I was already on the life going down flipping him the bird as I went! Felt good…more power ME!

    My Dr’s report said I was an awkward patient, typical for an Australian! (typical NZ wanker), but of course as you know Grainne later testing turned out that he was dead wrong and my nerves in my calves were already squashed beyond repair causing a life of neuropathic pain!

    I’m a really mellow bloke (as you know) but there ARE times when you really HAVE to stand up for yourself or YOU go away defeated and depressed. I admire your attitude kiddo but then being twins I’d expect nothing less.

    God I love you gal,

    Huge hugs,

    (((((Pete ))))))

    • Grainne says :

      LOL! Awkward patient…oh my. Doctors all over the world have god complexes I suppose. That one sounds like the ortho surgeon I saw last who laughed at me in my consultation. Literally. lol…sigh. Makes it easy to know who’s in the job for the money.

      It felt so good sitting there with the director who laid me off, looking him dead in the eye, answering his questions fully, professionally and without a drop of fear. It was awesome. Felt like me again. xx

      Thank you for the compliment. I do have a slightly above average IQ…was tested all my life through foster care. They figured I’d be developmentally challenged due to my preemie birth but I kept surprising them.

      xx Hugs back,
      Grainne

Leave a Reply

