One more quick post…

I just met a blogger who relates well to the OCD issues I face.  I don’t really talk about them much because I think they make me sound a bit nuts, but, I’m feeling brave after reading a post of his.  (Like I haven’t already exposed my soul on this blog…lol)

Enter, the Bargain Store.

There was a discount store beside one of the retail stores I used to work for eons ago.  They carried a bit of everything but I usually visited for a snack in the day…they had cold drinks, chips, gum, convenience store stuff.  I went there nearly every day until they hired a new cashier who had the most revolting habit I think I’ve ever seen.

Money, particularly change, is bothersome to me.  I don’t like to touch it and I don’t like the smell it leaves on my hands after I’ve done so.  Working with cash was a trial for me but I simply learned to wash my hands a gazillion times per shift and never, ever put my hands anywhere near my face or mouth.  That’s normal, everyday money.  This, was much worse.

The first time I encountered this cashier I was about three people back in line, waiting to pay.  I watched her ring up the customer and ask for the cash which was handed to her in the form of bills and the customer was to get change.  The cashier (omg this just made my skin start crawling) LICKED her fingers, reached into the change tray and pulled out a single coin, licked her fingers again, pulled out the next; essentially, she was licking her fingers before she touched any money in her register, coin or bill.  She then took the cupped pile of revolting change and handed it to the customer who had a similar look on her face to mine, horror.  She dumped the change into her purse and left.

The next customer was scrambling in her purse to find exact change but was rung up too fast and had to pay with a large bill.  The cashier took her money, laid it on top of the drawer and lick pulled out a ten, lick pulled out a five, lick pulled out a quarter, lick dime, lick lick lick three pennies.  I was mortified, to say the least.

When it was my turn to pay I gave her a five and told her to keep the change.  I cannot believe *anyone* would do such a revolting thing.  Money that’s been in people’s filthy hands, up against gross things in their pocket or bag…shivers.  Money is so dirty to me.

I did return, once, just in case it was a strange anomaly with this woman but no.  She attempted to give me change and I yanked my hand away letting it spill over the counter.

“Nope.  No…no thanks.  You keep it.  Not even almost.”

I laughed at myself afterwards but I’m still bothered to this day.  I can’t believe she’s lived as long as she did, licking all that change.

 

Baaaaah.  Now I need a shower.  (Suddenly the constant showering in dreams make sense to anyway.  Yup. Indeed.)

Tags: , , ,

About Grainne

My name is Grainne. This blog has been with me for years now and has served as a journal, a confessional, an outlet and a place for me to create and express my love of life. Thank you for stopping by and for becoming a part of this life long journey of mine. I appreciate every single one of you who takes the time to do so. :)

4 responses to “One more quick post…”

  1. KittyHere says :

    We all manage to remember the best stories. That was a good one. The licking, besides being disgusting, was probably a form of OCD for her. YUCK!

  2. Mental Mama says :

    Debit cards may save us all.

Leave a Reply

