Good things (Cheering myself up)

I woke up this morning to find D all wrapped around me without actually touching (he didn’t want to make me sweat more).  He said it was because I was crying in my sleep and he wanted to be close incase I woke up.  *Loving smile*  What a good guy I have.

When it was time to go I couldn’t find my car keys and eventually hunted them down in my car, which was running and getting all warmed up.  D had started it for us on his way out.  Then…oh then, I got to work and he sent me a text telling me to go to my favourite store at lunch (Sephora – that make up store I talk about…I could spend days in that place.  I don’t wear a lot of make up but I am in love with it somehow…pretty neutral colours and crisp lines.  They have a buxom lipstick that goes on matte and plumps your lips … Heaven.  😀  So yeah. He said to get something nice to wear to my next interview on Tuesday.

This newest shot I’m getting is from two new docs who are just starting up their clinical practice in the hospital.  Hopefully I’ll be able to win them over and direct them to the best parts of my résumé.  Fingers crossed…I’m not worried about salary so much anymore…it’s full time, has full benefits and I’m really wanting this change.  Money can be earned in other ways, if need be.

So, I get to treat myself to something nice.  I think I’ll get another lipstick even though I have three current favourites.  Maybe a new blush?  Oooh so exciting.  I don’t really want to spend a lot of money so I’ll have to shop carefully.  They have this Agave hair oil I’ve been wanting to try forever.  Maybe I’ll do a little bottle of that and a new lipstick.  *excited*  I love this stuff.

Oh!  And D surprised me by making an appointment for us to go see Tiff for new tattoos in May.  He’s got one little cover up to do and I’m going to get something little just for fun.  All of my tats are so big and involved, I don’t want to cover my entire body with ink…lol.  I haven’t decided what it will be yet, but I think I’ll do one specifically for my mom…nothing cheesy like angel wings or a rose but…will think of something.  Placement is an issue too as I need to be able to cover them for work.  Doesn’t matter though, it’s a fun thing to look forward to and it’s exactly what I needed.

It’s dropped in temperature by 20 degrees (actually, closer to 30) and my pain levels seem to have changed slightly.  The sciatic pain and nerve pain I had screaming through my arms and legs has settled nicely and I’m left with the regular torso pain I feel.  My headache is there but not demanding much attention…that’s a great thing in my world.

And one more…Despite knowing I should not have contacted him, I responded to M by email after his comment yesterday.  I let him know that I wasn’t about to fall for his bullshit anymore and knew all of his old party tricks well enough I could probably have pulled them myself.  I suggested he spend his time focusing on his mother and teenaged neighbour who apparently comes by to tell him she’s in love with him and to leave me alone.  It felt good.  The deepest of my depression seemed to resolve when he left my life and I aim to keep it that way.  I gave him my heart and he called it worthless….I took it back and now it’s mine to keep.  I waffled for a while, hovering over the send button and eventually just clicked it.  I hope he doesn’t write back because it will be hard not to read his response.  I eat his abusive bullshit like it’s candy and I don’t want to allow that in my life anymore.  Not from anyone, period.

So there we go; some happy.  I think I’m going to call in sick tomorrow and have myself a nice long weekend.  Sleep in with Colt….spend the day writing and surfing, cleaning and napping.  Sounds like a heck of a good plan right now.  🙂

Tags: , , , ,

About Grainne

My name is Grainne. This blog has been with me for years now and has served as a journal, a confessional, an outlet and a place for me to create and express my love of life. Thank you for stopping by and for becoming a part of this life long journey of mine. I appreciate every single one of you who takes the time to do so. :)

9 responses to “Good things (Cheering myself up)”

  1. KittyHere says :

    Yes, Friday is the start of the weekend, stay home. D is setting a very high bar. I am just going to focus on the fact you deserve every bit of his kindness.

    • Grainne says :

      lol…ooh he’s just trying to be a sweetheart…he can see how hard this week has been on me. All will be back to normal soon enough and we’ll be squabbling over whether or not the brand of yogurt I like is actually worth the extra 50 cents. lol. xx

  2. Mental Mama says :

    D could definitely earn extra income offering classes to teach guys how to properly treat their ladies. 🙂 Glad to hear you’re having such a great day, you deserve it. *HUGS*

    • Grainne says :

      Ha! I’m going to tell him you said that 🙂 He deserves the credit…he’s trying so hard to give me things to look forward to. He’s been really great about the layoff deal too and I’m so thankful. If this had happened even five years ago, it would have been the end of the world. (hugs back to you, my friend) xoxox

      • Pete says :

        D has really come to the party and I admire a man that does that. Like me he has fronted up through the good and the bad. 10/10 for him! You have a keeper there Grainne 🙂
        On the other hand I’d love to think I’m your 9/10? (*wink*) You know I love you twin 🙂

        Pete xo

  3. awomaninpain says :

    Lovely, just lovely!

    Although I’m not sure surfing is a good idea hee hee 😉 xxx

  4. marieolivia says :

    YAY! This made me smile!
    Your man sounds wonderful, and I like the way you ooze gratefulness in this post. Hurray!

Leave a Reply

