A happy moment

Forgot to add a happy moment into my long-winded complaint this morning.

A few weeks ago Colt came home talking up a storm about that game, Minecraft.  I think one of the kids at the sitter plays it and he watched, or, he came upon a video on YouTube that caught his eye.  In either event, he started watching videos and generally obsessing over the game.  I’ve played it and know how addictive it can be.  You can waste hours with that game…lol.  It’s quite detailed in information though, and I’m careful not to set Colt up to fail.  If he finds something too confusing he gets frustrated and quits eventually, which is no fun.

So, after hearing about it endlessly, we decided to drop the $6 to get the app on his iPad.  He was over the moon with excitement.  🙂

I tried to tell him about the basics, gathering materials, building a house and making tools and accessories…he didn’t really want to hear it though and was patient with me, but dismissive.  I find that we so often try to get Colt to do things the ‘proper’ way…the way everyone else does.  We’re forever trying to get him to act, behave, engage, learn, play and live like everyone else…this time, I just wanted the poor kid to have fun so I stopped with the info and just told him to have fun.  And wow…did he ever have a blast.

Within two days he has the game mastered.  He figured out the building of the house on his own, learned how to do all of the essential things and planned out his world.  When confused, you know what the kid did?  He looked up YouTube videos and followed the instructions!!!!  (If you know my boy you know that’s never happened before…ever).  His dad and I watched quietly, not wanting to interrupt his creative process.

Last night he came to me and showed me the farm he’d built.  He had cows, chickens and pigs all in different pens.  He played like that for a while then asked me a somber question.

“Mom, is it okay if use my TNT on the cows and blow them up because it’s just make-believe and no one will really get hurt?”

How could I say no?  Suddenly we had explosions going off with cow bits everywhere…Colt laughing hysterically.  Haha…he’s nine.  What can you do?  🙂

I went to watch and was amazed.  You should see the kid go!!  He was whipping through the menu so fast I couldn’t even keep up with him as he laid walls with the same colour bricks, removing every brick laid in error, even if it didn’t matter to the design. He built a library in one of his rooms and added a bed so I could lie down and read, he said.  Then he made a little sign that said “Mommy” and hung it on the wall.  Then he built a garage for his dad and made another sign for him.

Honestly…it sounds silly, I know, but to watch him handle that program was incredible.  He’s learned it so fast…so accurately too.  Makes me think that one day, he might be an autocad designer.  To see him go, you’d think he’d been playing for years.

Made me happy.  I’m looking forward to watching his adventures tonight.  🙂

Tags: , , , ,

About Grainne

My name is Grainne. This blog has been with me for years now and has served as a journal, a confessional, an outlet and a place for me to create and express my love of life. Thank you for stopping by and for becoming a part of this life long journey of mine. I appreciate every single one of you who takes the time to do so. :)

8 responses to “A happy moment”

  1. KittyHere says :

    Disabled my foot, Colt is simply an independant learner. And his motivation is internal. No bad at all. Too many of us follow the crowd instead of tapping into our inner self. And he is just nine!

    • Grainne says :

      !!! I LOVE THIS! This one is getting printed out and kept close to my heart. “An Independent learner who’s motivation is internal.”

      You most certainly did not miss your calling when you were working Kitty. I so wish things were different and Colt had somehow gained the benefit of your insights when he was young. Now you influence him through me though…so, all is good in the end.

      He is coming along so much better than I had hoped…really, even dared to dream. This makes me happy…if nothing else, guiding him as he turns into himself, is the greatest privilege I think I’ve ever had.

  2. frailistheheart says :

    Aww, that’s so cute! I would also love to blow up pretend thugs with TNT haha. I have drowned my fair share of sims in my lifetime 😉 xxxx

    • Grainne says :

      Thanks! 🙂 It is fun isn’t it? Lol…he’s been so involved with it he’s built a huge mansion for our family to live in with our own rooms. His dad got the kitchen…lol!!! How awesome is that!? xx

  3. Mental Mama says :

    Total awesomesauce. 😀

  4. awomaninpain says :

    Sounds like a lovely moment, I lost my son to minecraft about 8 months ago haha, he now plays it with added Skype with his mates so they can help each other! I don’t see him much, except when he is hungry! Lol. It sounds like the perfect game for Colt x

    • Grainne says :

      LOL! Yes, I see this happening in my future too! I didn’t know you could play with other people!!! That sounds like fun! Colt’s friends at the sitter’s place also play so I think that’s where the obsession began. He told me last night that he wanted to light his house with torches, like Will (the oldest of his sitter’s amazing children).

      Hooray for good influences! I like the game so much more for it’s lack of violence. 🙂

Leave a Reply

