Girly me

You know what I did today on my lunch?  Well, not lunch really, as I never take one (because I can’t eat through the day without setting off my stomach) but an hour in the afternoon anyway.  I was frustrated here, being grilled over something I did ages ago…everyone wanting to pin all the issues on me (of course I’m the scapegoat right?  I wish they’d wait until I was gone at least).  Anyway, I had to get out of this place and it was pouring rain, hail and ice outside (yay winter) so I did something I never do:  I got in my car, drove to the mall and went to Sephora.  I’m not sure if any of you know the brand but it’s a make up company and their stores are like a little slice of heaven if you love make up like I do.  (not heavy cakey make up either, but fun bright colours and dimension creating powers .. such fun to play with in my world.

Their make up is not cheap in quality or price so I almost never allow myself to go in there.  There are thousands of lipsticks and nail polishes…every colour you could imagine.  I could, honestly, spend the day in that store trying everything out.  I found the new spring palate of eye shadows and fell in love.  It was on for $30…eight shades, all ones I’ll use (which is rare!  That never happens…there’s always a weird red or purple I don’t like but not this time!).  I had to have it.  I also found a lovely matte lipstick from Buxom that I decided I couldn’t live without so in the end, I spent about 50$.  D would choke on his coffee if he knew…lol.  Now, I *never* spend money on stuff like this.  My hair cut two weeks back was a treat that I’d not given myself in years.  Plus, I put in on my emergency credit card so I can pay it before he sees it.  *giggles*  I hope he doesn’t decide to read this post for some reason!  ha!

So, I shopped the sadness away a little.  I can’t wait to try my new colours….which reminds me.  I still owe you guys a photo of my new hair!  Shall upload a few shots soon…maybe tomorrow after I’ve tried my new eyeshadow.  😀

I’m taking tomorrow off just because I can.  No one needs me here, no one will notice if I’m not here  and I have vacation saved up so fuck it.  I’m going to try to enjoy a long weekend.  I’m even going to let Colt stay home and have a hooky day if he so chooses.  He may refuse though, hot lunch is tomorrow and he loooooves hot lunch.  🙂

Smiling.  Time to leave soon.  Hooray!  xx

(Since doubling my meds I’ve managed to keep the pain just under my tolerance level so I’m doing better than I was this morning.  It’s so great when things work, even temporarily).

About Grainne

My name is Grainne. This blog has been with me for years now and has served as a journal, a confessional, an outlet and a place for me to create and express my love of life. Thank you for stopping by and for becoming a part of this life long journey of mine. I appreciate every single one of you who takes the time to do so. :)

6 responses to “Girly me”

  1. KittyHere says :

    There is a time for retail therapy especially when the purchases are things that will last a good while. Sephora is popular in the larger malls here. I think I am above their target age bracket. That and the fact I can not see what I am putting on my face. My skin is happier naked I tell myself.

    Wish I had a secret credit card. I collect cash for little sneaks. I used to have an adult student who paid me in cash for that very reason. Now I just stare if my spouse wants to freak and breathe deep. And I am never that irresponsible. I believe your splurge was well within reason too.

    • Grainne says :

      Thanks! Sephora is a really nice line but i know what you mean about their target age bracket. Most of their products are glittery and sparkly (not my style either) but, they also carry a dozen or so other brands like Estee Lauder and Buxom. I did find a gorgeous palate though for my eyes. I’m sporting it today too…day off make up is always the best. lol

      Our hooky day is going along very nicely. Colt is happily doing nothing and I’m only doing a tiny bit of housework. Nicer than being at the office anyway. xx

  2. Pete says :

    Oh ain’t it just grand when things all come together temporarily and you feel like a human being instead of some ‘pain experiment’ that just exists….you my twin owe me and e-mail…feeling sort of left out at the moment. I had a dream about you too (not for here *chuckles).

    Pete xo

  3. trish says :

    Good for.you! I have never heard of that brand of make up but it sounds fantastic. You deserve every single moment of pampering for all the shit that job put you through. You go girl! Can’t wait to see the picture of your hair! Take care and have a great day with Colt.

  4. Mental Mama says :

    A little retail therapy can be a Very Good Thing indeed. I was actually talking to Mom on Friday about how most of the assorted things we always get told are bad for us wouldn’t be IF we learned how to have them in moderation. I think that would apply here as well.

    Can’t wait to see the pics. I have an idea of what you “should” look like in my head so I’m curious to see how far off I am. 🙂

Leave a Reply

