Well Eff you too then.

Yeah, so, the HR woman finally called to let me know they don’t want me.  Oh, sorry “they are no longer interested in pursuing my application for the position.”  The HR gal has been in contact with the other one who is supposed to help me find something and they said they’d keep their eyes open for me.  She said there are loads of medical secretary positions coming up.  I guess if it comes to that I’ll take one and find a part-time job somewhere to make up the difference.  It’s about 10$ less an hour.  Awesome eh?

I started a profile and applied to the university at the medical school.  I don’t know what the salary is  or if they have drug benefits or a pension but I assume they do.  There didn’t seem to be anyone to ask, just one computer portal to the next and then you’re dumped out the other side confused and slightly disoriented.

I was cool on the phone.  Didn’t burst into wailing sobs or anything.  Did that in the bathroom quietly thereafter.  Now I’m hiding in my office in tears again.  I’ve been here so many times before.

I can’t believe I was so quickly dismissed. What an insult.  …i mean I suppose I can’t be everyone’s cup of tea but I was so overqualified for that stupid job.  Ah well, at least I don’t have to worry about that guy who hated me making my life a living hell.

I know this isn’t the worst thing in the world but holy shit does it ever feel like it right at this second.  On my shoulder sits an ugly little troll who keeps whispering that I’m going to lose everything.  

About Grainne

My name is Grainne. This blog has been with me for years now and has served as a journal, a confessional, an outlet and a place for me to create and express my love of life. Thank you for stopping by and for becoming a part of this life long journey of mine. I appreciate every single one of you who takes the time to do so. :)

5 responses to “Well Eff you too then.”

  1. paindepression says :

    I have that troll too sometimes. It’s so hard to see the positive when we are slammed repeatedly with the negative. You are very dear to me and know I think of you often and send you blessings always……

  2. Mental Mama says :

    Fuck those lousy bastards.

  3. KittyHere says :

    You have every right to mourn the loss of something you hoped you would land. It stinks that someone who wants to work is treated so.

    In the U.S people complain that “lazy people” get better benefits to not work– is Canada really so much worse at providing for the poor and unemployed ? I know disability can be tough to get but I also know that with the right lawyer people who appear much more able to work than yourself get it down here. And drug companies have all kinds of programs for folks without coverage. All of that unavailable in your “universal” health care system. Sure does not sound like your health care system is universal if your coverage is different from job to job, employer to employer. CRAZY!!

    • Grainne says :

      It is a bit of a mess here Kitty. That said, all doctor’s visits, most lab testing, surgery, recovery and hospital stays are 100% covered so if you get really sick. you’re home free. They don’t cover things like optical, dental, chiropractic, massage therapy, and medications (there are a few others in there I’ve not run across). It’s the meds that are the biggest concern, of course, for most people who have to take them regularly. Benefit plans at workplaces cover all those things to a limited amount each year. (mine give $200 every two years for glasses, for example but, the eye exam usually costs $150 and you and I both know there aren’t many glasses out there for $50. :S

      It’s a great system if you are very ill, require surgeries or hospital stays but for the little maintenance things (ha, meds are not little, I know) we’re fucked.

      Trying to get disability pay is like trying to win the lottery. They will drag cases out for years only to end up paying a tiny amount. Workplace compensation for injuries that happen at work is even worse! I’ve seen people cut off before they’re able to move around, let alone work again. Tricky stuff. It’s a six of one situation. xx

  4. Cat says :

    That’s a real bummer… hopefully something better will turn up soon

Leave a Reply

