Quick hello..resume to touch up!

Last night was difficult at home.  We crunched some numbers and D is really concerned about the pay cut I’ll have to take if I go work for this surgeon who’s offered me his academic/admin/research office.  It’s pretty deep cutting and D says we will have to cut off our phones to be able to afford it.  We have nothing else to cut…I can’t figure out how people manage to have houses and cars and cottages…we have no cable…our only service is internet.  It’s the heat and hydro, water, gas, insurance, rent and food that takes up everything somehow.  I mean the bills are pretty huge but how can we both be working full-time and not be able to afford a freaking cell phone???  I cried.  He got mad at me for crying and making everything harder.  I took some meds, he apologized and I went to sleep.

This morning, however, he woke me up early to tell me to take the job.  He decided that my mental stability and happiness was worth more than the pay cut.  I’m freaking out a little…we’ll never get a house now…I mean, maybe when we’re in our 50’s.  I live in fear that the landlords will kick us out at some point…(stop worrying about the future Grainne – there’s no point in stressing over things that haven’t even happened).

So…now I’m going to send my resume in after fixing it up some, and will see what happens.  I asked my HR consultant if there was any negotiating room in salary. Will see what she says but I’m pretty sure not.  The good part of this is that the job is under review and may end up being a higher level when the university kicks in its share.  I’d LOVE to be an employee of the Uni.  I’d get tuition discounts.  *yaaaay!  Might actually be able to go back to school part-time!!*

She’s up she’s down…this is such a rollercoaster.  I put make up on today…feeling better than yesterday.  Trying to show it.

Okay.  Resume.  Off I go.

About Grainne

My name is Grainne. This blog has been with me for years now and has served as a journal, a confessional, an outlet and a place for me to create and express my love of life. Thank you for stopping by and for becoming a part of this life long journey of mine. I appreciate every single one of you who takes the time to do so. :)

7 responses to “Quick hello..resume to touch up!”

  1. KittyHere says :

    Go for the job. It sounds like the surgeon is a real human being. I understand jobs are ranked and salaries are what they are…but sanity is priceless. Getting into the University could pay off long term in many ways.

    • Grainne says :

      Ha! That’s a quote I’m going to carry with me. “Sanity is priceless” It’s entirely true! I’ve sent my resume in….will see how it goes. 🙂

      They won’t let me negotiate for salary, sadly. It’s all categorized and classed, as you say.

  2. Mental Mama says :

    Being happy at work is worth a little less money coming home. But you’re right, it’s ridiculous to think that you’re both working full time and still not able to make all the bills – I feel that way every month myself.

  3. paindepression says :

    Go with what your guts tells you is right. Your mental health is the most important thing! Relax, breathe and feel what is right for you. You are loved by so many people, always remember that. I am here for you when ever you need anyone to listen or to talk……. Hang in there dear friend!

  4. Pete says :

    Let the future take care of itself Grainne, it always will. Time is like that relentless and for people like us we have to live in the moment!
    Our lives will always be that way and some people’s tomorrows never come.

    You’re one of the good eggs twin, stay true to yourself…the job sounds better for you 🙂

    Love you,

    Pete xo

  5. rootstoblossom says :

    I had to take a paycut at my new job. But the relief from the stress has more than made up for it. The hours fly by, instead of me hating every second.

    We also don’t have cable and many of the nicer things I see other people can afford. I also know many people can’t actually afford their lifestyle and live on credit cards. You’ll survive without a cell phone if you have to. There may be less expensive plans too. For a while we has ‘pay-as-you-go” phones and closely tracked our minutes and texts. It sucked, but it worked.

    Something Hubby said to me that helped me choose to accept this new job “you don’t have to stay there forever, it isn’t a death sentence, if you don’t like it, quit. You can keep looking for other opportunities and will always benefit from the experience and new networking”

    Most of all – try not to feel guilty about your lower income. It is a just a job, just money, you are still you and D and Colt will always love you, even if you make less money. I struggled with that one last month, thinking I was hurting my family and being selfish, and all the typical I’m not worthy of their love thinking. I was honest with my therapist and hubby about all of that, and they both set me straight. No one is going to kick us to the curb any more.

    • Grainne says :

      Oh yes, you are dead on with all of this, as usual 🙂 Thank you for reminding me of the things I need to keep in the forefront of my mind. *hugs!!*

      The guilt over the pay cut is huge! I feel like I’m taking food directly from the mouths of Colt and D. He’s been really good though, this time. D’s been trying to rationalize and keep things in perspective so it’s much easier than our usual “worst case scenario panic”. That crap is exhausting.

      I’m interviewing for the position on Wednesday morning and I’m looking forward to it. There are a lot of reasons that this new job would be great for me. I’m about to write a post about it to keep my thoughts sorted. I manage job interviews very well for the most part and this will just be a quick personality check…they don’t doubt my skill set in any way…just need to see if I might be a good fit. I’m hopeful…it does sound like a much more interesting, patient focused job where I’ll get to interact with so many people on a day to day basis…that will do nothing but good things inside my head, for sure.

      Thank you for all of this empathy and understanding. It’s exactly what I needed this morning. xoxoxox

Leave a Reply

