Happier News

Sooo I just got off the phone with a surgeon I’ve known here for a few years, not personally, but known of him for sure. We used to work in the same department.  I had asked another doc friend if he knew of any job openings and he pointed me to this physician.  I emailed him on Tuesday through my tears and he answered several times, dying to talk to me asap.  His assistant is retiring TOMORROW…lol…he’s needing someone pretty bad.  He has an academic/clinical role and this position would be for the academic side, which was a nice surprise.  I thought he needed a clinical assistant which is quite a drop in salary from where I am.

Anyway, he’s very keen.  The retiring assistant put in a wonderful word for me (we used to work together years ago) and he’s taking her word for it.  He said he’d take me on happily, and if everything works out well, he’d love to keep me until he retires.  The role is actually half funded by the hospital and half by the university which would make me an employee of both….opening more doors already.

I’m waiting for his HR gal to call me with details and to send me a job description. I’m going to snazz up my resume and match it to the description…the role is basically just like this one only I work for ONE guy and he calls the shots.  Plus, he’s a damn good surgeon and has saved a few people’s lives I quite care about around here.  This might just work out (as long as he doesn’t lowball me on salary…and even then, might just take it and go on from there anyway.  Get me out of this place as fast as possible).

So there we go.  Some action already is soothing my nerves some.  Will update as we go.

About Grainne

My name is Grainne. This blog has been with me for years now and has served as a journal, a confessional, an outlet and a place for me to create and express my love of life. Thank you for stopping by and for becoming a part of this life long journey of mine. I appreciate every single one of you who takes the time to do so. :)

9 responses to “Happier News”

  1. idena says :

    Very, very , very good news!!!!

  2. Hope says :

    Oh, that’s awesome! I’m so happy for you!

  3. paindepression says :

    Everything happens for a reason…. When one door closes a bigger and better door opens. Sometimes we don’t feel that way and sometimes it takes a while to realize that the door which closed was for a good reason. I am so excited for you….

  4. KittyHere says :

    Hospital and University — yep, I like the sounds of that. I like the sounds of that a lot.

  5. awomaninpain says :

    Wonderful news, I have just commented on your other post again first! I keep doing that…
    Go for it, sounds like he really wants you and discuss the salary, they are there as a guide line. Tell him the amount you want for example what you are on now or even slightly more. If they won’t budge oh we’ll at least you tried, but this will open so many doors for you and your future…GO FOR IT, NOTHING IS HOLDING YOU BACK NOW! xoxo

  6. Pete says :

    You Bloody Beauty!
    That sounds like a really good gig, wear your brooch to the interview.

    Love you,

    Pete xo

Leave a Reply

