Okay then

I walked over to the director’s office and stood in the hallway, clearly able to see the HR chick thought the frosted glass.  I knew he wouldn’t be alone.

I heard her say they weren’t going to talk about all the details that were going to end up as hearsay anyway, and she said not to say word one about my illness.  This chick knows her job.  So anyway, he professionally addressed me and handed me a letter stating that he was eliminating the position I hold from the department.  No longer needed, apparently.  I only bust my ass here but whatever…right?  They didn’t want to go blow by blow with me because my performance issues are tiny…the health issues are none of their business.

He started to pretend to care..told me to take the day off, paid…said I could have some more days off too if I needed them.  I may just take them.  What does it matter now?

I’ve shot off a dozen email to friends here asking them to keep their ears to the ground for any job opportunities that may come up…they did give me four months notice, which was kind, I guess.  I should be able to find something in four months, even if the job is shit.

There’s an HR lady who is going to help me through this process and help me find a new job – but, if I cannot find one, at the end of my four months I pack up and leave the hospital organization with my piddly severance pay and a slap on the back.

So now I’m locked in my office, bawling.   The director wants me to go home.  I don’t know what I want to do.

About Grainne

My name is Grainne. This blog has been with me for years now and has served as a journal, a confessional, an outlet and a place for me to create and express my love of life. Thank you for stopping by and for becoming a part of this life long journey of mine. I appreciate every single one of you who takes the time to do so. :)

19 responses to “Okay then”

  1. Mental Mama says :

    Go home and lick your wounds. You deserve that.

    Four months is gracious, but it sounds to me like they’re trying to stave off a lawsuit. I’d work there until I got a better job and then bow out quietly.

    *HUGS*

    • Pete says :

      I agree Mama, it does sound like they are trying to get rid of any possible lawsuit!
      The question is why is her job now no longer needed? Grainne is that worth following up now with a lawyer

      Pete xo

      • Mental Mama says :

        I don’t know enough about the labor laws there. Where I live we have this shit called “right to work” which means anyone can be fired for any reason with no recourse.

      • Grainne says :

        Hey Pete. No I’d not want to push it too far. The directors has been out for me for years (apparently). While waiting for my meeting I heard him ask her if he could address all the issues that he had email proof of and the HR gal told him no. She said he couldn’t mention my illness/sick days because I had reported the illness previously. (Lawsuit). He does have a few email from my current chair complaining about things that sound legit but, if I had the chance to explain, would be shown to be petty. Basically, he can say that the chairs no longer felt they needed additional support. I was hired in the first place because we had a chair who had no one supporting him. His term ended and mine could have then too. With this four month layoff notice they get around a lot. (Not that I won’t consult a lawyer, I certainly will, but I am fairly sure of the outcome. I see lawsuits go by me daily that end up not resolving well).
        My

    • Grainne says :

      That’s what I will do Mama. I’ve already put the word out there (I know a lot of people who think well of me). The four months is gracious and it’s exactly because they wouldn’t win if they tried to fire me. They are very legally careful and the ducking my director was doing was so he’d not be in a situation where it was my word against his.

      • Pete says :

        Hey Beautiful Twin,

        It’s worth it to consult a lawyer but if he/she says you’ve got the best deal out of them, then fxck it, be rid of the place. It was stressing you out anyway!
        Take a few weeks for yourself, relax, take in a couple of movies…(sighs wishes he could take her), have good full sleeps, be carefree, throw stuff around, dance under the stars. Then look for something else. Wish I were there to embrace you in my arms and make things feel safe.

        Love you,

        Pete xo

      • Grainne says :

        Thank you so much Pete. I’m back at work today to start transferring my tasks over to others and starting Monday I’ll have the humiliating task of doing shit work for my peers. I’m trying not to see it that way. My plan is to do what is asked and no more, take all my lunches and breaks and I’ll take as many days off as I can. I’ve got the feelers out to the rest of the organization (there are loads of people who do like me and like working with me here) so I’m hopeful something will come along soon. I don’t want to be here one minute longer than I have to.

  2. idena says :

    Agree…go home. Rest. Breathe. Watch stupid TV. Whatever. Just get out of there for the day.
    Thinking of you!

    • Grainne says :

      Thank you so much. I did do just that. Took another day to get my shit together too. I needed this time while D wasn’t around panicking about money. (I’m the breadwinner. Or. Was).

  3. Ellen says :

    I am sorry. Definitely go home, and take days off. You need them, and as you say, there’s nothing else they can really do to you. take care

  4. paindepression says :

    Oh honey, hang in there…. I am here for you when ever you need me, even if you just want to vent it out! Your in my thoughts and I am sending you peace, calm and love!

  5. KittyHere says :

    As you said HR knew what to do to protect the organization. Take all the paid days and do not think twice. Use them to rest, to pamper your guys…whatever…no post dismissal evaluation is likely right? Let hem get used to life without you even while you are there. I am not usually that vindictive but that boss asked for it, so go ahead and deliver.

    And of course make use of all the benefits you can while you have them. Make sure you have a copy of the video honoring you as a super employee too.

    • Grainne says :

      Kitty. Xoxox I’m taking what is due me. It’s their loss in the end. And you’re right. I’ve known I needed to get out of this department for a long time now.

  6. worstcasescenariogirl says :

    Take care of you. They are big fat stupid heads. I hate them and curse them and am sending la swarm of locusts to surround them…. Bet you didn’t know I had that kind of power 😉

  7. Hope says :

    Set them on fire and then go home.

    I’m so sorry all this is happening. They’re assholes, they’ve taken advantage of your efforts, and you deserve much, much better. I wish I could do something to magically fix everything…I wish I weren’t so far away so I could bring you ice cream and dumb movies. Just know I’m always around if you feel like talking, and I care about you.

    • Grainne says :

      I care about you too. Have for a long time now. I would eat ice cream with you until we both got sick from the lactose Lol!! Xx much love. Thank you for being my friend.

Leave a Reply

