Results are in!

Not bad news, not great…but not bad.  My liver still seems to be struggling some however, things have not gotten worse in the last month.  My doc thinks that if I maintain where I am, stay away from alcohol and other things that might be tough on my liver and be careful with the meds that I’ll be okay for another few years before anything drastic needs to be planned.

The anemia is still happening but looks to be getting better.  I’m getting suspension shots now as it doesn’t need to be processed by the liver the same was as if I were to swallow iron pills…I think anyway, I’ve not really investigated, just went with what she suggested.  There’s B12 in there too, just for kicks, as sometimes my B12 levels tank.

The GI issues appear not to be associated with anything other than years of harsh drugs (medications, I mean, not illegal street drugs) and the ulcers I was gifted thanks to the Celebrex (the thought of the name makes my stomach turn).  So, I’m kinda stuck with those, although that GERD medications seems to help some.  She wants me to keep taking it…says it will allow my esophagus to actually heal, if I take it long enough.  Sounds good to me…staying on that one.

I asked about raising the pain meds again, now that my liver enzymes seem to be stabilizing.  She was thoughtful this time and said that she’s not too keen on upping the Targin dose because I always end up suffering side effects when we do this.  She wants my liver not to have to struggle with a new dose and, amazingly, suggested I keep the same dose going but add one in the middle of the day.  She figured my body would be used to this dosage and it wouldn’t cause side effects like an increase would.  I’m on board…now I take three a day, will see if that helps.  I have to say, although it’s frustrating at times, I do like how slowly she makes me move with the narcotics.  I’m in the moment, in pain and seeking relief, but she’s looking ahead for me, making sure I don’t screw myself in the end.  I was pretty pleased over all.

Oh..haha..the blood work from a few weeks back showed a high RH factor.  (rolls eyes).  She’s been trying to diagnose me with Rheumatoid Arthritis for years and years but we just never see the markers in my blood.  Of course, NOW it shows up.  I hear that RA is like that though.  She’s taken more blood today and if we get two high reads in a row, she’s going to send me back to Rheumatology.

On and On it goes.

So.  I’m still not dying.  I’m in pain, my body is struggling, but I’m alive and ready to face another day.  My doc did offer another letter to get me off work for a while…even just to reduce my hours.  I’ve paid for two of these notes so far and have not turned them in or taken any action at work.  I’m terrified that I’ll take the leave, nothing will change, I’ll come back to work in the same condition only now depressed from sitting at home on my own, and then five years down the road I’ll desperately need a break and it won’t be there for me anymore.  Sucks…these long term decisions in this short-term perspective.

I’m forcing myself out to lunch with a friend today.  She’s picking me up soon and we’re going to have some Jalapeno Cheddar soup and home made tortillas like we used to, way back when, at an awesome little latin food place down the road.  I’m hungry and have had all my GI meds so ready to go.  Looking forward, really, to hearing about her life and kids.  She talks, I listen…we get along great.  lol.

So.  On we go then.  xx

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About Grainne

My name is Grainne. This blog has been with me for years now and has served as a journal, a confessional, an outlet and a place for me to create and express my love of life. Thank you for stopping by and for becoming a part of this life long journey of mine. I appreciate every single one of you who takes the time to do so. :)

8 responses to “Results are in!”

  1. paindepression says :

    Have a wonderful lunch today! So glad you are getting out with a friend. Glad to know all is ok for now with your test results. I don’t know what I would do without you my dear friend!

  2. littlegirlintherain says :

    Oh my gosh this sounds like a lot of stuff to have to deal with….Wow you’re so strong! I wish I had a magic wand to make the pain disappear but until that day comes, I just wish for strength to keep on keeping on. Love, M.

  3. Mental Mama says :

    Your doc sounds wonderful. 🙂 Glad to hear that things are slowly getting better. Slow and steady wins the race!

    • Grainne says :

      Thanks Mama! Me too. It was such a relief to find out things weren’t getting worse. I didn’t even want to think about it and we were very tight lipped at home too…didn’t want to put bad vibes out there. I’m really pleased with my family doc these days. She used to be rather absent minded and annoyingly dismissive but since we’ve established a relationship through constant visits and med trials she’s really warmed up and been amazing to me. I was so pleased that she took the time to think out a good strategy for me. I told her so too…she got all teary eyed. 🙂

      Hope you are on the mend too, my friend. xx

  4. KittyHere says :

    The way you write about your doctor and how choices about your care are being made gives me hope. And I am hoping you are finding the relationship better now too. RA is nasty. My Sis has it and is not doing much to treat it… if you have it I hope you can tolerate some form of treatment.

    Life is going OK down here in the states, cold but OK. Writing less but understand that is only because I am living off line and improving.

  5. S. says :

    Hey Grainne,
    I am thrilled to hear you have increased the meds mid day. No, I dont think it is a great idea to continuously push your narc level higher, it they aren’t working. You were getting all the crappy side effects and none of the benefits.
    Your spirits seem to be high… We’ve been chatting a lot about me, send me an email letting me know how you are? Ih, and no iPhone… But I have an android I am sure there’s and app for us. 😛
    Xoxo

Leave a Reply

