A happy update on my personal life *yay for D!!*

Today I woke with tolerable pain which was rather amazing.  I have been pushing myself to stay awake until 9pm when I can and that way I tend to go to sleep and only wake when the pain gets too bad or I am freezing and soaked in sweat, wrapped in soaked blankets.  Because I wasn’t in agony when I went to sleep, I only woke for cold sweat purposes which was so lovely…considering the alternative.  I have been sleeping with my hands clenched in the blankets though and I’m not sure how to stop that but it’s starting to bother me.  I wake with no feeling in my hands which I’m sure is not good for them…just another annoying thing to deal with, I suppose.

D told me that I was so tense as I slept, I had the blankets pulled taut between my clenched skeleton hands and my feet.  I was hooking the blankets with my toes and fingers and then pulled it taught like a tent.  He said the little cat got up to sleep with me and was able to walk all the way across me without actually touching me, balanced on that blanket.  I’m not sure what to do about that either.  How does one control their body while sleeping?  I’d love to know.

D has been feeling a lot better these days thanks to his new job.  He had been working part-time for this place for a while, trying to scramble up some extra money but they’ve taken him on full-time and he has finally escaped that hell hole of a company he was stuck working at for the last five years.  The money is better, they have benefits and pensions…it’s a *real* job, Hooray for D!!  He’s never had a real job before…just the sort where you have to watch your back constantly while everyone else tries to blame you for their own mistakes, people steal your parts so you can’t finish jobs, everyone throws you under the bus the first chance they get AND your job is threatened weekly, just to keep you on your toes.  He’s always had to worry about getting his full 40 hours, getting paid the proper amount for the time he worked, losing everything just because the boss was having a shit day.  This time, he’s coming home all bright-eyed and excited, telling me all the new things he’s learning.  He’s an electronic security tech but the new place is cross training him in the rest of their work.  This will allow him to get two more tickets and they are rather hard to come by.  Safesmithing is one of them…he has safe locks at home to play with and learn how to reset and he’s so excited, like a little boy.

He was hired for his experience and his references, who are all previous job supers or customers and his work is so good it stands on its own.  I’m really proud of him.  He’s finally feeling like a part of a team, they are delivering on their promises, ordering uniforms, have given him a truck to drive and a phone to use for work….the boss is training him on safes and they’re sending him out with all the guys so he can learn as much as possible.  It’s simply amazing.  Last night, he talked at the speed of light trying to explain all the new things he’s being exposed to….it was so good to hear him happy.  So there.  We have that done.  Time to find something better suited for me as well.

He was sweet last night while encouraging me.  He told me not to jump at the first chance, to wait it out and play it smart and what I want will come to me.  Things are different this year for us.  We’re working together, almost every moment, and the mutual support is so lovely.  He touches me again, just playful pats and kisses through the day and he does little things like filling my tires with air because he noticed they were low, or warming up my car for me in the mornings before we leave.  I’m doing everything I can to help him along too.  Amazing, after all these years, to suddenly find safety and happiness.  I guess that’s what happens when you grow up together.  I credit Colt for all this change, and rightly so. Without him we were just spinning in circles.  With him, we are a strong, united front and the three of us can take on the world.

I wasn’t sure I’d ever get to feel this way.  I’m thankful beyond words.

On a crappy note, it’s just 10 am now and the pain is seeping back into my body.  It’s so weird that feeling of the pain coming on..it feels like my spine is starting to sag and little pains shoot out between the bones.  There’s a heat to the pain in my neck that burns from the inside but you can feel it on my skin with ease.  My jaw and face have been better recently because of D’s facial massages (seriously.  I don’t think he could try any harder!) but the headaches remain.  They are vicious, these headaches.  I suppose I should go get work started before I lose my position and have to start fighting the pain back again.

Overall, it’s a good day so far.  Colt had a perfect week last week, inside and outside, at school which is a rarity.  No swearing, no arguments, no issues on the playground.

About Grainne

My name is Grainne. This blog has been with me for years now and has served as a journal, a confessional, an outlet and a place for me to create and express my love of life. Thank you for stopping by and for becoming a part of this life long journey of mine. I appreciate every single one of you who takes the time to do so. :)

7 responses to “A happy update on my personal life *yay for D!!*”

  1. KittyHere says :

    Good to hear that someone so deserving got a break

  2. rootstoblossom says :

    This is all so wonderful to hear! And I don’t doubt Colt was a part of this equation, but be careful not to give him all the credit, sounds like you and D have been working hard and things are starting to show for it. So happy for you! I bet Colt notices the differences too even if he can’t exactly show it.

  3. Pete says :

    “Sometimes you eat the bar and sometimes… well, he eats you” The Big Lebowski 🙂

    Going through a good time are the times that we live for Grainne, they can be as short as a butterfly’s life so enjoy the moment. It’s fantastic to hear about D and his new job and C having a great week.

    Love you twin,

    Pete xo

  4. awomaninpain says :

    Fabulous news! Nothing like a bit of positivity and good news to get you through the vortex of pain! Big smiles for you all xx

  5. S. says :

    🙂 tell me more!!!
    Xxx S.

    • Grainne says :

      I’m SO happy for him. He’s deserved a good job for a long, long time. He’s such a hard working guy and he takes a lot of pride in his work and his word. xox

Leave a Reply

