Verdict is in

…and it’s my liver.  *closes eyes*  Damn it.

My enzymes are all out of whack and she told me it was likely responsible for the malaise, exhaustion and stomach upset. She’s put me on a handful of meds to help with the symptoms (oh good news…kinda.  She said the weight gain I’ve been experiencing might have to do with my liver.  There’s something called ascites fluid that people with liver issues get.  It’s basically a collection of fluid in my abdomen.  She said, if it gets worse and we don’t get things under control quickly, she can make me an appointment with a hepatologist to remove the excess fluid by needle).

I have a med to stop the acid reflux and issues I developed thanks to that stomach eating Celebrex disaster a few years back.  She said it should help right away so that’s something to look forward to.  She also put me back on the pill at my request.  She said it would be a really bad idea to get pregnant right now (no kidding eh?) so it’s a good move for more than one reason.  She’s still somewhat convinced that I am heading into menopause but the pill will probably help with that a little too.

She said to start the meds immediately so I filled the scrip at the pharmacy beside her rather than going all the way to north campus where I usually fill my meds.  At work, they only charge the 10% we owe and they give us a miss on the dispensing fees.  I wasn’t prepared for the $300 bill…I paid it on my credit card, taking up all my extra xmas money.  I thought D would flip but he didn’t.  Said he was far more worried about my health…made me feel good.  Loved. Need it a lot.

So yeah.  I guess it’s better to know.  I’ll be back in to see her in two weeks and then weekly thereafter until they see things normalize.  The bladder scope and ultrasound is coming up but she’s cancelling the GI scope..  She said enough was enough, we already knew my stomach and esophagus was damaged.  I’m not sure what to think.  I’m almost in tears but it’s PMS so it doesn’t really count.

Panic/ambivalence/panic/ambivalence – this is how things seem to go with me.  I’ll find a balance eventually.

Took my meds and I have to eat now (30 min after taking or it won’t help).  I’m going to try a muffin and an apple.  Wish me luck guys.

Thanks so much for reading this…for being here with me.  I have not felt alone in this since my very first blog friend (Kitty xoxoxo) took up camp and started cheering me on.  I am so lucky to have you guys along for the ride.  Thank you.  Even if you never comment and only read every now and then.  🙂  xox

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About Grainne

My name is Grainne. This blog has been with me for years now and has served as a journal, a confessional, an outlet and a place for me to create and express my love of life. Thank you for stopping by and for becoming a part of this life long journey of mine. I appreciate every single one of you who takes the time to do so. :)

15 responses to “Verdict is in”

  1. paindepression says :

    Hang in there and please keep us posted! Sending you loving and caring thoughts…..

  2. Mental Mama says :

    Liver issues suck (so been there) but knowledge is power. I hope she’s able to get things back under control for you quickly and that the BC pills help. *hugs*

    • Grainne says :

      It’s true, knowledge is power. I feel capable of taking control of this today…I’m not going to let it knock me down. Thanks so much for all the love Mama. You mean a lot to me.

  3. Pen says :

    Wanted to drop by and say I’m so glad for you. I know I haven’t been reading regularly and have been sort of a crummy support-friend lately. But it was so heart-warming to read you have a diagnosis (and tentative prognosis). Though I feel you on the crummy script prices. My 11 different meds add up fast too 😦

    However, it gives me some hope for myself to hear that some people are still able to manage some diagnoses after things seem to go super-south.

    I’m about to post about this, but I wanted to tell you that I do have the appt with the cardiologist scheduled for next week. We’ll see how it goes…

    Xoxoxoxo

    • Grainne says :

      Thanks so much Pen. Love, you’ve had a full plate of your own this past while. Don’t you worry for one second how well you’re supporting me…you need to get your world on track too! I’m glad we’re chatting though…I like being in touch with you through the day. At least we both know we’re not alone in our health issues/fears. (good for you – that appointment will hopefully outline your options so you can make the best decision for you. Will be right here, cheering you on!) xox

  4. KittyHere says :

    You are going to get this under controll. The hard facts from labs can be dealt with…yes $300 bucks on pills may mean skipping other Christmas stuff. But that is all just stuff that can be skipped. Colt wants you more than stuff. Good for you just picking up the meds ASAP. Things with D are surprising me in the best of ways. Further with that I will not go (blushing scarlet)
    And thanks for mentioning me…I am with you wishing you renewed health and happiness.

    I am still going to lean on you when I need it. No special exemptions .

    • Grainne says :

      You’d better still lean on me Kitty! This is the nicest friendship I’ve had since Tiffany picked me up off the streets 20 years ago.

      D is a good man with a whole bunch of strange quirks and issues. He surprises me still. xox

      Much love.

  5. idena says :

    Thinking of you. {hugs}

  6. Pete says :

    My Sweetheart Twin xo

    You know how much I love you! *Hugs* At least you know now and knowing is half the battle won. My Doc said to cut down on the ‘odd’ beer because my GGT Liver enzyme was….well… lets just say a little too high. I was kind of on a death wish there for a while drinking with my meds because I just didn’t see the point in such a poor quality life, but it’s our children that drive us on. I’m not surprised with D’s behaviour because now there is solid black type PROOF that you aren’t well for a reason! As we know, and have talked about, invisible illnesses are so hard to deal with.
    I’ll hang in there with you Grainne, our destinies seem connected. Need someone to talk to, I’m always going to be here…unconditional, always

    Love you Kiddo,

    Pete xo

    • Grainne says :

      Holy smokes Pete really? That’s just incredible isn’t it? Seriously man…one of us really needs to take a good turn so we can get back into this game of life without so much holding us down.

      Thanks for being there and understanding, as always. You know I understand too. xox

  7. stunnedandstunted says :

    Can I take up camp and cheer you on too?

Leave a Reply

