Still alive

Holy crap we have a lot of snow!!

Image-1 (1)

This is the part of winter I like.  Not too cold, snow all over the place, pretty and peaceful out where I live.  I wish I could have taken today off to get more photos before it all gets dirty and slushy.

I’m not feeling much better today but I dragged my butt into work.  I have a meeting tonight and I have to be at it or it will just cause more crap to roll downhill onto me.  I’m having a hard time holding up my head…the longer I do, the more it hurts until I eventually throw up from the pain.  I’m trying to trick my body with Gatorade and pepsi…getting some electrolytes and sugar into my system before it just gives up all together and crashes.

The strange part is that my ptsd is quite active right now.  The pain is putting me on edge and my subconscious is interpreting the danger as something we can run from.  I only wish I could run from this.  *sigh*

My dreams though!  D and I found a new place to live in my dreams yesterday.  It’s a nice little place with tons of storage (we have no closets in our current home.  You’d never believe how much of a pain in the ass that is.) I really liked the place when we moved in…felt free to start over.  I’m glad for it…things are still kind of going our way.

D found us a new fridge on Tuesday for 200$.  It’s practically new and I’m so in love.  The shelves are glass and slide out for better access and the door has shelves for condiments and such.  We’ve been living out of a teeny tiny little apartment sized fridge (two containers of ice cream and a roast filled our last freezer) since we moved to this place.  It fit in the nook we wanted it to fit in and it did us fine for a while.  My place has issues with mold though, and the seal was going on the fridge (it was so old the rubber dried up and broke off) so the mold was finding its way inside.  Scared me…so glad it’s gone!  It’s amazing to be able to go to the fridge and not find half of the contents frozen, the other half spoiled.  I’m going to a fresh fruit market on the weekend and I’m filling that baby up!  We’ve never been able to keep much fruit as it would freeze or spoil so quickly.  So yay us.  New fridge rocks.

I don’t have much else to say.  Can’t wait until I can crawl back into bed.

Happy Thanksgiving to my American friends, by the way.  I hope you all have a wonderful day with family or without.  Please be safe.  xx

About Grainne

My name is Grainne. This blog has been with me for years now and has served as a journal, a confessional, an outlet and a place for me to create and express my love of life. Thank you for stopping by and for becoming a part of this life long journey of mine. I appreciate every single one of you who takes the time to do so. :)

8 responses to “Still alive”

  1. KittyHere says :

    I appreciate the Thanksgiving wishes. Hope to private email you soon. I have one started but this chief caregiver role when I would like someone babying me means I never have my ought to dos half done. Still I have some big things to be thankful for including the fact you have a new fridge. And my hubby is alive snoozing on my love seat.

    • Grainne says :

      Oh yes…I say a little thank you each morning for your and your hubby’s health. 🙂

      My new fridge is fantastic. I love it. I feel like we’ve been so silly all these years roughing it with a crappy, tiny thing that froze veggies and let milk go off on the same day. lol

  2. stunnedandstunted says :

    I love that picture! I wish it would snow here! 🙂

  3. Mental Mama says :

    Damn, and I was bitching earlier about the cold – at least it’s been dry here. I hate driving in snow.

    I hope by now you’re feeling better and that the meeting went well. Our day was relatively uneventful. My sister and I got along pretty well today, the kids were fairly well behaved, and I didn’t feel compelled to kill anyone – all in all pretty good.

    Congrats on the fridge! Something that seems so small can really make a huge difference. And anything you can do to eliminate a worry should help your overall sense of well-being.

  4. Pete says :

    Amazing photo Grainne! Wow 🙂
    …and hey nothing makes you more happy than a new fridge huh? 😉
    Wish I could crawl into bed with you Sis, the discs in my neck…now viewed as a quote “Bit of a concern,” by my Dr are hurting like hell. Oh well, meds away!!

    Pete xo

    PS: your photos are top class, career on the side perhaps?

    • Grainne says :

      Thanks for the compliment on my photos! It’s my favourite hobby. I’ve considered a career in it but I don’t want to end up doing weddings and crap…just for fun. 🙂 You have seen my photo blog yes? I must have shown you at some point…

      xx Sorry to hear your pain is ever-evolving and adding more parts of your poor body to torture. Are they thinking any treatment options? I’ve not heard of much they can do in the cervical spine. Not terrible effective, anyway.

Leave a Reply

